We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cuningham's Island Guest House
Ranked #58 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Abbeyfeale, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying two nights recently at Cuninghams Guest house. The Island is lovely and safe and close to the centre of town.Our room was very spacious and clean.There is an honesty bar which was most welcome after a day of sightseeing, and a pool for a refreshing dip. Preston was most helpful in recommending local attractions and restaurants, and my husband had great chats with Tim about the local area and Wilbur Smith as they are both fans! My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer in this lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuninghams, Owner at Cuningham's Island Guest House, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review.
I certainly hope that your husband's book makes more sense now that he has seen the area.
Warm wishes from Knysna
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    32
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
48
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cephalonia, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved this guest house set amongst mature trees on a pretty island.
The outside area around the pool with a little bar was a nice place to relax after a site seeing day.
The staff were very helpful and breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor which was huge with a large balcony overlooking the pool and garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuninghams, Owner at Cuningham's Island Guest House, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hello Marilyn
Thank you so much for a positive review.
Hopefully we will see you in this part of the world again soon.
Warm wishes
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lovely location, really helpful owners and superb staff. Rooms are comfortable but could do with upgrading.Having said that we have stayed here 6 times and when in Knysna would always book again, being treated like old friends each time by Tim the owner.

Room Tip: We always like room 6 overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeclooney38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuninghams, Owner at Cuningham's Island Guest House, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi George Clooney
Thank you for your positive & constructive response.
That room is about to be painted & freshened up.
We look forward to welcomeing you on your 7th visit.
Warm wishes from a sunny Knysna
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After a 14 hour journey (from the middle of the continent to the bottom), we were relieved to finally arrive at this haven of a property, on Leisure Isle. A haven of peace and tranquility compared to the bustle of Knysna itself.

We had the family room, actually two adjoining rooms with ensuite to the side of the main property. This would be perfect for a family with younger children, affording good privacy.

Very good breakfast, friendly welcome, very nice pool and situation. The room was hot although there were fans, and we did sleep well. One minor point was that despite being a family of 4, the table was not laid up for us like that. They had tables in 2s, diagonally in the room, and as we went to breakfast separately, I wasn't on the spot to sort it out. Very trivial point, but I just round it was rather unusual, I was sitting on the table next to my husband, facing away from him! I say this as constructive feedback, and would have mentioned it at the time of leaving but there was no-one to see at that time.

Big plus point was Tim's generosity, and helpfulness. He reserved a table at a nearby popular restaurant for us - one of those that you can't reserve a table at! And not only that, but didn't charge us for our bar bill, as a generous gesture after our long journey. It was only a small bill, but nevertheless stands out in my mind.

It was a shame we couldn't stay longer. If you are looking for somewhere to stay, I seriously recommend you consider the Isle, because of the added security and environment.

Room Tip: I would think that one overlooking the pool would be very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuninghams, Owner at Cuningham's Island Guest House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Good morning ShellyRM
Thanks so much for your positive comments.
You are quite correct, the family room is designed for 2 adults and 2 children.
My apologies for the breakfast seating as this could have been quickly rearranged as my staff should have picked this up.
We would normally have tables arranged per the size of the group but something obviously went wrong that morning & I have brought this to my staff's attention.
We look forward to seeing you again in this part of the world.
Warm wishes
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was just perfect to relax. Tim is so charming and has always the right answers to your questions. The pool made my first day so we decided to stay another night. The location is so quiet but also very close to the city. Around the corner you can swim in the sea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuninghams, Owner at Cuningham's Island Guest House, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Sabrina
Thanks so much for your positive response.
Lets hope that it is not too long before we see you back in this part of the world.
Warm wishes from a hot & sunny Knysna
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed for one night but could have easily stayed a week. Absolute tranquility and peacefulness. We stayed in a lovely spacious room and it had all the nice touches. Had a great nights sleep and one would have thought we were miles from anywhere such was the quietness. Staff unobtrusive but there when you need them and Tim Cunningham the owner is a most genial host. Did not have breakfast but it smelt scrumptious on our way out and the nicest of touches was finding our car freshly cleaned, never come across that before, great idea Tim. If you are looking for a relaxing and peaceful place to unwind you cannot do better than stay at Cuningham's Island Guest House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuninghams, Owner at Cuningham's Island Guest House, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello Elizabeth
Thanks so much for your comments.
I think you must definitely plan to stay a bit longer next time.
Warm wishes
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Kick of your shoes, kick back and relax is definitely the order of the day with Tim at Cunninghams Island Guest House, we love it and have been staying on repeated trips over the last eight years.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.2 mi away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#31 of 126 in Knysna
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leisure Isle Lodge
Leisure Isle Lodge
#19 of 126 in Knysna
241 reviews
3.3 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#13 of 126 in Knysna
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Turning Tides B&B
Turning Tides B&B
#71 of 126 in Knysna
25 reviews
1.2 mi away
47th on Howard Lodge
47th on Howard Lodge
#9 of 104 in Knysna
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isola Bella
Isola Bella
#62 of 126 in Knysna
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuningham's Island Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuningham's Island Guest House

Property: Cuningham's Island Guest House
Address: 3 Kingsway | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cuningham's Island Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuningham's is located on safe & tranquil Leisure Isle close to three golf courses & Knysna's only beach. Set in a well established garden filled with the sound of birds guests can either laze around the large swimming pool or walk to the beach. Being centrally located on the Garden Route makes Cuningham's the ideal place from which to explore the many sites & activities that the area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Cuningham's Island Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing