We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cuningham's Island Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$295
$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$547
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$51
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$67
$58
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
48
36
12
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
36
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure islandhonesty barcar washguest housesuperior roombreakfast was excellentb breceived a warm welcomeeach morningshort drivemade us feel at homestay there againtwo nightsyogurton arrivalhostpreston
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 97 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After a 14 hour journey (from the middle of the continent to the bottom), we were relieved to finally arrive at this haven of a property, on Leisure Isle. A haven of peace and tranquility compared to the bustle of Knysna itself.

We had the family room, actually two adjoining rooms with ensuite to the side of the main property. This would be perfect for a family with younger children, affording good privacy.

Very good breakfast, friendly welcome, very nice pool and situation. The room was hot although there were fans, and we did sleep well. One minor point was that despite being a family of 4, the table was not laid up for us like that. They had tables in 2s, diagonally in the room, and as we went to breakfast separately, I wasn't on the spot to sort it out. Very trivial point, but I just round it was rather unusual, I was sitting on the table next to my husband, facing away from him! I say this as constructive feedback, and would have mentioned it at the time of leaving but there was no-one to see at that time.

Big plus point was Tim's generosity, and helpfulness. He reserved a table at a nearby popular restaurant for us - one of those that you can't reserve a table at! And not only that, but didn't charge us for our bar bill, as a generous gesture after our long journey. It was only a small bill, but nevertheless stands out in my mind.

It was a shame we couldn't stay longer. If you are looking for somewhere to stay, I seriously recommend you consider the Isle, because of the added security and environment.

Room Tip: I would think that one overlooking the pool would be very nice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellyRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuninghams, Owner at Cuningham's Island Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Good morning ShellyRM
Thanks so much for your positive comments.
You are quite correct, the family room is designed for 2 adults and 2 children.
My apologies for the breakfast seating as this could have been quickly rearranged as my staff should have picked this up.
We would normally have tables arranged per the size of the group but something obviously went wrong that morning & I have brought this to my staff's attention.
We look forward to seeing you again in this part of the world.
Warm wishes
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was just perfect to relax. Tim is so charming and has always the right answers to your questions. The pool made my first day so we decided to stay another night. The location is so quiet but also very close to the city. Around the corner you can swim in the sea.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuninghams, Owner at Cuningham's Island Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Hi Sabrina
Thanks so much for your positive response.
Lets hope that it is not too long before we see you back in this part of the world.
Warm wishes from a hot & sunny Knysna
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed for one night but could have easily stayed a week. Absolute tranquility and peacefulness. We stayed in a lovely spacious room and it had all the nice touches. Had a great nights sleep and one would have thought we were miles from anywhere such was the quietness. Staff unobtrusive but there when you need them and Tim Cunningham the owner is a most genial host. Did not have breakfast but it smelt scrumptious on our way out and the nicest of touches was finding our car freshly cleaned, never come across that before, great idea Tim. If you are looking for a relaxing and peaceful place to unwind you cannot do better than stay at Cuningham's Island Guest House.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuninghams, Owner at Cuningham's Island Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Hello Elizabeth
Thanks so much for your comments.
I think you must definitely plan to stay a bit longer next time.
Warm wishes
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Kick of your shoes, kick back and relax is definitely the order of the day with Tim at Cunninghams Island Guest House, we love it and have been staying on repeated trips over the last eight years.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Secluded but yet close to town. Spacious rooms and bathrooms, pillows and linens like in a 5*, bathroom with amenities and an awesome complimentary breakfast(probably one of the best croissants I ever had) The owner ,Tim Cunningham , not only made us feel at home by being a great host but also gave us directions and advice in how to continue our trip driving all the South African cost. Our car was complimentary washed without asking when we checked out. Little details makes big difference. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FerdieGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews