We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”
Review of Cambalala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cambalala
Ranked #4 of 130 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at Cambalala in March 2014 and it is truly one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. The outdoor space was amazing with magnificent views and the rooms were perfect and to top it off a free mini bar included. Nicole is a wonderful host so welcoming and made you feel at home. If like me you spend ages trawling through trip advisor for places to stay take my advice and stay here if visiting Knysna you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 236 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Great B&B with stunning views of Knysna and a great outdoor pool. The rooms are very well attended, clean, modern and spacious. Very friendly hosts with a meticulous focus on detail which make you feel at home. Great breakfast (also with a view ;-) ). Complimentary minibar is a nice touch. It was definitely one of the top 3 locations on our south africa vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodyear07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were blown away by this remarkable place! Nicole is a gracious and unobtrusive host while always eager to make your stay memorable. I booked 3 rooms for my spouse and I and friends traveling to SA for the first time. After doing internet research on the best options I selected Cambalala with a tinge of hesitancy about relying on the internet. We were astounded by the beauty of the location, the excellence of the rooms and the thoughtful details all included in the room price - Nespresso coffee machines, free minibar alcohol beverages and free internet to say nothing of the sumptuous breakfasts! My very discerning friends would all have given it 6 out of 5 stars if we could have.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

There is not much that I can write that hasn't already been written.

The property is in a beautiful location, with all 5 or 6 rooms opening on to the idyllic setting of an infinity edge pool perched high above the Knysna lagoon, meticulously manicured. Wow - what a setting!

The rooms have everything you need (personal Nespresso machines, as noted elsewhere and a complimentary mini bar.

Nicole is a brilliant host, knowing when to suggest activities, but also knowing when to stand back and leave you to it. Her suggestion of eating at 34 degrees south was a good one for our first night (casually served seafood down at the waterfront), bur her next suggestion of The Olive Tree was perfect for us, versus some of the more touristy/cheap options that are typically on offer.

The only quirky thing (that has also been mentioned elsewhere) is that the toilets/showers are only separated from the bed by a see-through cord/curtain, so if this puts you off, then you may want to think twice.

Knysna was a great stop on our trip, and staying at Cambalala, with Nicole as the host played a huge part in that.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very stylish accommodation managed by the sweetest host Nicole.
Just a handful of rooms, so no problem with noise.
All very clean and high quality furniture.
Very nice breakfast with the best bread we had in SA.
Infinity pool and superb garden. You should walk down the garden all the way to the bottom.
Will return surely when back in Knysna.
Magnificent view over the Laguna.
Just minutes away from the centre by taxi or car.
As far as I know there is no air conditioning, but not sure. So might be hot in summer.
Very nice patio covered with a superb free form sail.
Very tasteful interior decoration carefully selected by Nicole.
We'll protected private parking.

Top guest house!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Philippe v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The Cambalala guest house is a great location with excellent service. The guest house itself has a modern design with traditional African touches. The garden has a great view and has a lot of room and privacy for sunbathers. The pool is comfortable and has a great view by itself. Each room has a separate entrance to the garden. The hosts are very kind and accommodating and breakfast is absolutely excellent. The rooms themselves are spacious, are equally well designed as the main house and have all the necessary comforts. Our room had one drawback; the bathroom with toilet is not separated from the sleeping room, and the toilet is visible from the bed. That can get quite annoying when one needs to go to the bathroom during the night and is the reason why we would give this a four out of five rating. If this single point doesn't bother you that much, than this is an absolutely excellent location to stay over for a few days.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Petethefreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Cambalala. The place was gorgeous, the rooms, the common areas, the outside views - every aspect was well thought out and beautifully designed. The place felt luxurious without a hint of pretention. The breakfasts were wonderful, with a stunning view. Nicole was an amazing host - so knowledgeable, friendly and warm. One of the prettiest hotels I have stayed at!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
868 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#2 of 130 in Knysna
680 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#1 of 130 in Knysna
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambalala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambalala

Address: 46 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $162 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambalala 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambalala is a luxury guest house ideally situated in Paradise with magnificent views over the lagoon. This is the perfect place to forget about the rest of the world and lose yourself in South Africa's favourite town. We proudly offer stylish and comfortable accommodation with the very best of service and hospitality. Each of the five double en-suite rooms emphasize comfort and exude style. High quality linen, underfloor heating, minibars, TVs, iPod docking systems, safes, Wi-Fi Internet access and Nespresso machines create suites that are left wanting nothing. Private balconies offer views over the beautiful indigenous garden and clear infinity pool which blends seamlessly with the panoramic lagoon views in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cambalala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing