We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phantom View Lodges
Ranked #23 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This was a great week-end and we found the chalets well designed and very comfortable.
We are very impressed with the fact that one will be able to enjoy a holiday with the whole family without the hassle of waiting for bathrooms or showers and the "own" access to the veranda is a big advantage!
The view is awesome and to enjoy your breakfast while the sun is peaking it's head is just a blessing.

Room Tip: Looking for space while on holiday? Check this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatendaPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 93 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2011

My husband and I needed a place to stay with our 2 dogs en route to the Eastern Cape and Phantom View River Resort was almost perfect. Although it is situated outside of Knysna it was an easy drive to 34 South for a lovely dinner. The suite was comfortable and very spacious - there were 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a big open-plan lounge/kitchen and a nice veranda with a kettle braai and a lovely view over the lagoon. We slept well and were glad to be able to have our dogs - who are very well behaved - with us. The only potential downside is that if you have a trailer and the resort is full you won't be able to park your trailer at your unit. Also the property is on a steep slope so maneuvering our trailer was quite difficult.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franschhoekfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

this was the second time we stayed at phantom view the attraction for us is the peacefull ness and surrounding areas the staff are freindly enough to be helpfull without hassle and let you get on with your holiday
we had our 4 year old grandaughter with us this time and the light bulb of nature switched on in her head which was fantastic we will visit the area agai n and phantom view will be our first choice

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patfount1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Our brief stay at Phantom View River Resort in April was one of the highlights of our South African visit. The staff was very friendly and welcoming and service was great. The views of the lagoon from the resort are stunning. We rented the Lightleys River Runners Fishing boat for the day and can definitely recommend the experience. Exploring the lagoon was such fun. We ordered a picnic lunch to take with and were very pleased with the variety of both savoury and sweet and of course the bottle of bubbly went down a treat!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MarietteHodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

On the whole this is good accommodation but maybe a little pricey for want you get and well ouside the town. Knysna is nice but Avoid!! The elephant sanctuary and do not book anything unless through the attraction directly.
The matresses could be better but this is on the whole a good self catering option for a family.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

great views, great location, our chalet was a bit dated but others in our group stayed in recently modernised chalets which were beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pieeater1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I found what the reservations officer of Phantom View and the information on their website promised me. All 4 of us enjoyed our stay and really could relax. The quality of the accommodation comparing the price is a fair deal. The food however ( we had to pre-order) was of good quality and we were surprised on the quantity and quality. Thank you to all the staff wha made our stay such a wonderful experience. We see you soon again. Pieter van Jaarsveld

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pietervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.4 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
275 reviews
14.2 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
6.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
3.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.0 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phantom View Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phantom View Lodges

Address: Phantom Pass Road | Uitzicht, Knysna 6571, South Africa (Formerly Phantom View River Resort)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: $30 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phantom View Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODGES INVENTORY: Our 3 and 2 bedroom lodges have exquisite views of the lagoon and mountains which can be enjoyed from just about anywhere in the lodge! All lodges are equipped with: KITCHEN - Complimentary tea/coffee kettle, fridge/freezer, oven/stove, toaster, coffee plunger, microwave, water filter tap, all provided cutlery including braai dish & tongs, ashtrays - (strictly no smoking indoors, only on balconies). LIVING ROOM - flat screen TV including a DSTV bouquet, cooling fan. Activities book - Providing our guests with contact details for restaurants and activities in the area as well as all emergency numbers. BEDROOMS (QUEEN, DOUBLE, 2 SINGLES) - all linen provided + extra blankets, radio & hairdryer, complimentary tea/coffee kettle, portable Weber braai (strictly only charcoal burning), safety deposit box with unique code which is chosen by the guest (only available 1 bedroom), ceiling fans, heater, cupboards. BATHROOMS (3 BATHROOMS PER LODGE) - Most bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms! Shower OR bath, toilet 2 x, basins, soaps, towels provided, toilet paper. GUEST FACILITIES - shade-cloth parking bay for each lodge (please advise if you are traveling with a boat trailer as we have a specific unit with a larger parking space which we would then allocate you to.). Communal swimming pool (our swimming pool is fenced to ensure safety our young guests.). Laundry room with washing machines and ironing boards (self use). DAILY CLEANING SERVICE AVAILABLE - This service is only provided to our guests Complimentary service Guests that book 6+ nights will receive a complimentary change of Linen & Towels every 4 - 5 days Daily cleaning service (optional) Please book your service well in advance to give us enough time to arrange cleaning staff required for the day Only week days - Monday to Friday No Weekends or public holidays ( Only by special arrangement ) R75 - Making beds, washing dishes, tidying bathrooms (1 1/2 hours) R250 - Making beds, washing dishes, vacuum, bathrooms & Weber clean (3 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Phantom View Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing