We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptionally good dining experience”

Zachary's Restaurant
Ranked #72 of 163 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Named after the Chairman's much-loved and well-travelled Labrador, Zachary's is stylish and contemporary and reflects the five star luxury of the award-winning Conrad Pezula Resort & Spa. Upmarket without being intimidating, sophisticated but not pretentious, Zachary’s offers seasonal menus incorporating vegetables, fruit and herbs from the hotel’s organic gardens and the bounty of fresh produce available in the Garden Route area, reflecting a clean, honest approach to food with a unique style of its own.The restaurant’s award-winning wine list has twice received an Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator.
NYC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“An exceptionally good dining experience”
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This restaurant is very elegant and sophisticated. We had a fabulous dining experience. The food and service were excellent as well. While it is a little pricey for South Africa, it was a very affordable based on United States prices. It is one of the finest hotels in the area. All in all, we had a wonderful dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meatman102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2015
Dear Meatman102

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing to dine at Zachary's.

I am delighted to hear that you had a fabulous dining experience and proud that you received excellent service.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful evening.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    15
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite food and fantastic wine list”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure of eating at Zachary's for three nights in a row this winter. Without exception the food was creative, thoughtfully prepared, beautifully presented and easy to eat. Even more importantly it was all absolutely delicious. The cuisine is fairly typical modern fusion, with a focus on local ingredients such as Knysna oysters, Karoo lamb or South African game meats.

The service is thoughtful and attentive and the food is accompanied by an extremely good wine list with a phenomenal by the glass selection. The sommelier has a wonderful sense for South African wine and has chosen a broad array that compliments the food on offer.

As a real bonus, this is one of the most vegetarian-friendly restaurants I have found in South Africa. My wife is vegetarian and was able to have a different starter, main and dessert every night we were there. Between the two of us that ended up being the chance to try almost 20 different dishes and not a single one failed us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ivorclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2015
Dear ivorclarke

Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience with us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your valuable feedback.

I will be sure to share your positive and encouraging comments with the team.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden route
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best in South Africa”
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Four of us had Zachary's Friday evening Menu Gourmand with wine pairing . The theme was truffles - black perigold .
The ambience is sophisticated , the service is definitely the best in the country with knowledgeable polite and discrete service . We sat back and enjoyed the show - after the amuse bouche we had poached mossel bay oysters with truffles and celeriac foam . I've had a surfeit of oysters in various disguise this past week at the Knysna Oyster festival , none came close to this potion . Paired with Graham Beck Blanc de blanc . Next was potato gnocchi with truffles , forest mushrooms , roast garlic and parmesan . A very rich but enjoyable dish paired with a Semillon which we felt was not the best pairing . A pinot noir would have been the equal to the earthy truffles . Main course was Impala fillet with truffles ( thinly sliced ,almost translucent ) roast beetroot and shallots served on krummel pap ( a true South African dish literally meaning crumbled porridge ) The Impala was tasted very gamey unlike much venison sold today .Well paired with a Groot Constantia Shiraz .Then finally dessert of Cardamon and yoghurt panna cotta served with Nederburg Noble Late Harvest - aah, the noble rot .
The wine portions were so generous we could not finish most glasses , definitely not a typical wine tasting portion !
The price ? Well I have eaten at two and three starred michelin restaurants at more than double the price , vastly less wine and really no better food and no better service - Zachary's ( to borrow from a well known quote ) is my friend , finish and klaar .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenrouteOstrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2015
Dear GardenrouteOstrich

Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at Zachary's.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Menu Gourmand and Wine Pairing and proud to hear that you received excellent service.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knysna
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“fine dining”
Reviewed February 23, 2010

This is the pace to go if you're looking for seriously fine dining and have lots of money in your pocket! Wonderful food at European prices. Service second to none. A real gastronomic experience and the only serious restaurant in Knysna

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shamemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2015
Dear shamemily

Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at Zachary's. We appreciate your valuable feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful dining experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
201 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Real fine dining experience”
Reviewed August 2, 2009

During our stay we were here for two times and we were very satisfied.
I can recommend the place if you want:
- fine dining
- intimate seating with high level of comfort
- peaceful place far away from the crowd
Very good meals and wine selection.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jardaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2015
Dear Jardaok

Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at Zachary's.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed an intimate and peaceful dining experience with us.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Victor Chalfoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Restaurant also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Zachary's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing