We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step up your game Pezula”

Zachary's Restaurant
Ranked #68 of 164 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Named after the Chairman's much-loved and well-travelled Labrador, Zachary's is stylish and contemporary and reflects the five star luxury of the award-winning Conrad Pezula Resort & Spa. Upmarket without being intimidating, sophisticated but not pretentious, Zachary’s offers seasonal menus incorporating vegetables, fruit and herbs from the hotel’s organic gardens and the bounty of fresh produce available in the Garden Route area, reflecting a clean, honest approach to food with a unique style of its own.The restaurant’s award-winning wine list has twice received an Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Step up your game Pezula”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've had two bad experiences with this hotel. One with the Spa. I arrived on schedule for my treatment, only to find out they had no appointment for me that day. The second was yesterday evening. We booked to eat at Zacherys restaurant. My husband went in as instructed and paid for the dinner beforehand. At this time he again reminded them that we had a vegetarian joining us for new years eve. We were told this was not a problem.
On arrival we where shown straight to our table, where we ordered drinks. Our guest asked for a strawberry daiquiri, we were told this was not possible as they had no ice.
The first course then arrives. This dinner was a set menu at a cost of R1950.00 per head. The



vegetarian dish landed up been the exact same meal minus the meat. So at one point when she
was given a plate of lettuce leaves. I complained and sent it back to the kitchen were they proceeded to to slice a mushroom over the salad leaf.
Our wines were also supposed to be matched to each course served. Well the wines were served after each course till my husband took the manager aside and had a word.
After this the situation was sorted

Let me also mention we were a table of six of which only three of us were having the wine. The price per head was not changed at all, and they were in fact charged for their water. Shocking !!.

On leaving we spoke with the manager which at this point I'm still not clear she fully realized why we were disappointed with the whole experience!

Midnight came along. The restaurant had already sent home the live band at eleven and the other diners were left hanging. We thought perhaps a glass of champagne would be sent to the tables or perhaps a little wave from the manager wishing us new year? ( sarcasm) . I would have expected a little more thought and effort would have gone a long way here. We did after all pay a substantial amount per head for this dining experience!
Very bad show Pezula.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Familyschutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Familyschutte,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your New Years Eve experience at Zachary's. We are always disappointed when we don't exceed guest expectation and I believe there is opportunity for us to rectify this.

Our only intention is always to give exceptional service and food of superior quality and integrity.

Although we are not in full agreement with the review we would prefer to engage with you personally and seek a way to satisfy you.

Sincerely,

Gert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    18
    15
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Put your best dress on and enjoy a restaurant that is a notch above anything else Knysna has to offer. Slighty pretentious crowd but the service is outstanding and the food is arguably even better. Not cheap but the quality is evident.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear LondonJournalist,

Thank you very much for such a compliment. We work hard at providing good quality food and experiences our guests cherish and it is rewarding to be recognised for that. We are launching our summer menus in the coming days and are very excited to showcase the local produce as only Geoffrey can.

Best Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Severely Overrated”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Poor service - had to wait more than an hour for our drinks, some very disappointing salad and sandwiches! Staff were totally unconcerned about the delays and had time to chat to each other and other patrons.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Helen L,

Please let me apologise for your experience. We always strive to be flawless in execution and quality and am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectation.

You are a local in the area and your support is valued. The feedback you have provided is already being implemented in training sessions to improve the experience and avoid a re-occurance.

Please do come and re-visit us and ask for me direct. I assure you that this is not the norm.

Kind Regards

Gert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We visit Zachary's at least once a holiday. The food is really, really good and the wine list is extensive. Ambience is great, and so is the service. Highly recommendable for that special dinner.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Arrow69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Arrow69,

Thank you for your loyal support and recommendation. We are pleased that we impress you and hope to see you at Zachary's again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callaway, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I guarantee you will not have a dining experience like this anywhere else. The staff is courteous and attentive, the sommelier is knowledgeable and the food is creative, local and superbly cooked! Not to be missed!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Autumn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Autumn T,

Thank you very much for a wonderful review of our commitment to cooking locally and with absolute integrity. Your review is valued and appreciated.

Kind Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Restaurant also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Zachary's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing