We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Ranked #2 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We arrived late on Sunday evening and travelled along a very dark road. For us city dwellers this in itself was an experience, especially since we didn't see any other cars on the road. Fortunately the directions provided were excellent, so we found our way. The owner welcomed us on arrival and the check-in process was smooth and efficient. Both of us were quietly anxious at the stuffed badger and snakeskin in the reception - the only "wildlife" we were accustomed to were pigeons!

We were shown to our cottage which was well-appointed, cosy and welcoming after the long drive. The following morning we awoke to the sounds of birds chirping (a bit different to the traffic noise we are used to). Looking out of the window - there was a sea of green - we were literally right at the edge of the forest. I felt like a child on Christmas day and could not wait to be outside to breathe the air and take drink it all in.

Forest Edge combines all the amenities of home with tranquility and calm. We absolutely loved the outside shower - something neither of us had experienced before. Just 15 minutes from Knysna, all amenities are easily accessible even though it feels like a world away.

We were sad to leave and can't wait to go back - we're planning our next booking already! Its hard to describe it all in words - you'll need to experience it to believe it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    34
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
175
245
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Lovely hikes which can be organised on the spot. Can be lovely with or without kids. Well equipped, with small kitchen and barbecue. Chimney also well appreciated in winter. Cottages are very private and the shower outside under the stars, is a great experience. The management was very helpful as well. The possibility of being close to Knysna and beautiful beaches while staying in a quiet place is great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauritiusNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Tranquil and beautiful. A true outdoors experience that will stay with us forever. We will definitely recommend to anyone and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOSSEL BAY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2010

One experience here the times, long ago, of romantic living in the virgin forest and the warm welcome make a stay here indescribable pleasant!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAWIDFRIENDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLettenebrg bay
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The little cottage has everything you would need. They are truly built on the edge of the forest. At night you can hear the forest come alive. There is so many activities to choose from. We decided to walk down to the river, almost killed us coming back - just because we were not in shape, but would do it again in a heartbeat. If you need to break away to clear your head and find some of your soul again, do yourself a favor and spend a day or two at this amazing spot.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Bring along your books, hiking shoes and lots of red wine!!!! Please make sure that you book either breakfast or dinner at the Red Barn Restaurant close to Forest Edge, the food and atmosphere is something special. Forest Edge will defenitely see us again, what a magical place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psmit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackenfell, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We could't have chosen a better place for our fourth year wedding anniversary! The "froggy pond" cottage had everything we needed! The service is beyond excellent. Ronel and her staff are one of a kind! We will definitely be back and we will telling everyone we know about Forest Edge!
All you have to do is sit back and enjoy the nature!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannedeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
6.9 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
13.0 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
12.3 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 101 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 19 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bridgewater Manor
Bridgewater Manor
#1 of 101 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
9.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Property: Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Address: Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Edge is ideal for Honeymooners, Mountain-bikers, Birdwatchers, trail-walkers and nature-loving families. We specialise in romantic getaways to help you destress and re-connect. Ideally situated to enjoy the trails, forest rock pools and picnic spots or to just chill on your veranda with binocs, a book or sundowners. There are 5 free-standing exceptionally well-equipped, comfortable, self-catering cottages; 2 Standard and 3 Luxury cottages. The luxury cottages include complimentary WiFi and Comprehensive Satellite DSTV and have a Queen instead of a Double bed in the main bedroom. We offer in-cottage Continental Breakfast and breakfast baskets by prior arrangement, to be delivered to your cottage for you to prepare when it suits you - convenience at its best! Although there is no spa on site, we have several mobile massage and beauty therapists that can attend to your needs right in the privacy of your cottage. Come rejuvenate in the Magic of the Forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing