We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than just a place to sleep - highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Ranked #1 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Much more than just a place to sleep - highly recommend”
Reviewed March 6, 2010

My family including 2 young children and I loved our stay at Forest Edge. Ronel, the owner, has thought though every detail to make the stay comfortable and fun - very impressive. The clean and cozy cottages are perfect for a self catering trip. We really enjoyed the outdoor hot showers and eating breakfast on the front porch overlooking the pond and forest. The two friendly donkeys wondering the gardens were a lot of fun too for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TitoDulce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    34
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
175
247
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We received misleading information from Ronel upon an email enquiry. In good faith we trusted that we were not being misled and paid the 100% deposit to secure our booking. Upon arrivel we however felt misled by the information supplied. When we approached Ronel about this she got rude, swore at us twice in front of our small childrent and then refused to refund us our full deposit - even though she admitted to being at fault.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Disappointed_Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_forest_fairy, Owner at Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat, responded to this review, April 2, 2010
This guest arrived and complained that our ponds and dams are not full and that this constituted false advertising, despite us posting photos of the low water situation on our official site prior to them booking. The context of this event is the worst drought in the area in 132 years, widely publicised and declared a national disaster area. It is not a matter of cost, but of availability. Despite our very clear no-refund policy, we paid the guest a 50% courtesy refund. The guest continued to insist that the low dams were negligence on our part and when we tried to explain that we are dealing with an Act of God, the guest stated that they would write letters of complaint about us swearing, if we do not give them a full refund and they then left without completing the check-in. The official body that governs us, AA Travel, investigated the situation and did not find reason for Forest Edge to make further refunds or close our doors as per the guests insistence. Forest Edge learnt from this event and installed a cctv system for the protection of all parties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We had a 2 week experience never to be forgotton, and we shall definitely be back. Forest Edge is a magical haven where one can recharge from the stressful city demands. We highly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience nature whilst still in the comforts of a well equipped, cosy home - Firefly cottage was stunning.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DOlivierPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helderkruin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

I have been struggling to load this review on Tripadvisor for weeks now and still it is worth trying, because we feel we have uncovered a real gem! The kids loved the pet donkeys, while we adored the attention to detail noted in the fires packed for us, the ability to have a professional massage in the privacy of our cottage and the selection of movies available in our cottage. Together we enjoyed the forest walks, mountain biking at sunset, watching fireflies and just doing bonding family-centric activities. Excellent value for money and this Garden Route gem is a must for nature-loving families.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoetzerAndCoetser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

We stayed 4 nights here and loved every minute of it. The cottage was delightful, it faced directly onto the edge of the forest and was very peaceful. All facilitiies in the cottage were to a very high standard even down to the amazing outside shower with very hot water. It even had a collection of DVD's and CD's.

The property is some way off the road which makes it so restful and quiet at all times. Star gazing was amazing with no light pollution, we have never experienced anything like it before. The surrounding forest is lovely and well worth a visit, it is all driveable really deep into the forest to visit the old gold mines. Knysna is a lovely town set on a large lagoon and is easily reached from the property in approx. 20mins on a delightful forest road which is tarmac.

The donkeys are very friendly and enjoyed the food we saved them, we regularly saw the baboons although they were never a problem and always kept their distance.

We would thououghly reccommned this property if you want to really get away from it all for a few days and experience the real unspoilt countryside.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kencnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We experienced a unique break-away, with visiting bushbuck, monkeys and stunning birdlife. Nothing better than swinging in a hammock under ancient indigenous trees letting Nature embrace one's spirit again. This Knysna self-catering jewel did not win a National Award for nothing!

  • Liked — Excellent value for money that exceeded our expectations
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was perfect!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpkingirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

After a hectic time, the picturesque and well-equipped Forest Edge self-catering cottages in Knysna on the Garden Route were the perfect place to reconnect with our souls. From the unexpected little gift on our arrival to the superb service throughout, we could not have asked for better. Romantic Forest Walks, cosy log fires with well-stocked movie library, reading in the hammock, great birdwatching and photographic opportunities. A reasonably priced gem that exceeds expectations!

  • Liked — Excellent authentic venue & service, reasonably priced quality; genuine passion to please
  • Disliked — Intermittent Internet access due to remote location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LieselT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
6.9 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
13.0 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
12.3 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 102 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 20 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bridgewater Manor
Bridgewater Manor
#2 of 102 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
9.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Property: Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Address: Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Edge is ideal for Honeymooners, Mountain-bikers, Birdwatchers, trail-walkers and nature-loving families. We specialise in romantic getaways to help you destress and re-connect. Ideally situated to enjoy the trails, forest rock pools and picnic spots or to just chill on your veranda with binocs, a book or sundowners. There are 5 free-standing exceptionally well-equipped, comfortable, self-catering cottages; 2 Standard and 3 Luxury cottages. The luxury cottages include complimentary WiFi and Comprehensive Satellite DSTV and have a Queen instead of a Double bed in the main bedroom. We offer in-cottage Continental Breakfast and breakfast baskets by prior arrangement, to be delivered to your cottage for you to prepare when it suits you - convenience at its best! Although there is no spa on site, we have several mobile massage and beauty therapists that can attend to your needs right in the privacy of your cottage. Come rejuvenate in the Magic of the Forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing