We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This past May we were fortunate to have the entire camp for ourselves. After a busy noisy week in CT and on the road the camp was blissfully quiet during day and night. Many of the group were content to catch up on sleep on the porch or under a tree.. and life slowed down and offered time for reflection. The group loved the well funrished clean cottages with outdoor showers and a big bathtub indoors. This was the 5th time we stayed at Forest Edge and definetely will come back for a 6th time!

Room Tip: Wonderful forest peace and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 487 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

My first visit to Forest Edge was at the age of 9 and that memory has been imprinted in my mind forever. Forest Edge and the Knysna forest area is the reason why I have developed a great passion for nature and conservation. I have just returned from a break away for my 25th birthday and I am happy to say that I have come back with even more precious memories. Our every need was catered for - there were even potted herbs growing on the porch. We had a delightful stay in Field Mouse cottage! The cottage was cosy and we had a wonderful time relaxing in front of the fireplace. It is inspiring to see that an eco-friendly approach is present everywhere. To my surprise Ronel even remembered my birthday and gave me a bottle of champagne!! We've started saving for our next visit!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family has visited Forest Edge for many years and will continue to do so. The quaint cottages are well equipped and comfortable. It is wonderful to wake up to the sounds of bird calls and to walk onto the porch and have a view of the wonderful Knysna forest. I have not come across another place in this country which invigorates the spirit in the way that Forest Edge does. It is off the beaten track, yet close to Knysna if you would like to go into town. The cottages are selfcatering, but just down the road is a splendid country restaurant, Totties, which offers delicious meals. We enjoyed the local attractions so much that we did not feel a need to return to the busy town of Knysna. The hostess, Ronel, was exceptionally helpful and friendly as always and that is also one of the main reasons that Forest Edge will hold a special place in our hearts for ever.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I came across Forest Edge's web-site quite by accident and am so glad I did!
Nestled in God's own countryside, this magical place rejuvenates both body and soul.
Ideal for all who just need to "get away from it all" and find themselves again.
Forest Edge is a place that I definitely will have many happy returns to!

Room Tip: there are only five cottages here so each one is tastefully and personally fitted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was an unique experience! I must really encourage you to make this part of you South African experience! Forest Edge is a comfy stay, with beautiful surroundings. It makes you think about the role we as humans play on this earth! We also went for two hikes and this charged our batteries. My two kids enjoyed this as well. All the excitement, beautiful ferns and trees, special Knysna Loeries and clean air!!! The cottage was very family friendly. We feel ready to face the world again! We also visited a lot of attractions which is nearby: Monkeyland, Birds of Eden, Tenikwa Wild Cat park, Noetzie beach, Timberlake Adventures, Beacon Island Hotel etc etc! Everything at Forest Edge is very well organised, well prepared and the host is very friendly! Some memories were made that will linger for ever!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Lizaan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Forest Edge really is a little piece of tranquility for any traveler. If you want the luxury of simplicity in the woods, this is for you. These quaint cottages welcome you at the end of the day and make it just a little difficult to leave in the morning. Enjoy breakfast on the porch and sunset from the hammock. Not to mention the cozy fireplace and lovely wooden floors. We stayed in the Froggy Pond Cottage, so there were added orchestral sounds at night too. Ronel strikes the perfect balance between being absolutely warm welcoming and helpful, yet never intrusive. Definitely to be highly recommended and a place to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lovely place to rest and take a deep breath. Felt very welcome and kids loved the hammock on the stoep. The donkeys was also a hit. We even got advice how to do our own organic veg garden and tips for general more healthy living.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adri g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
12.4 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
101 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
164 reviews
5.0 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 22 in Sedgefield
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 107 in Knysna
338 reviews
4.2 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
10.9 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Address: Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: $65 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Edge is ideal for Honeymooners, Mountain-bikers, Birdwatchers, trail-walkers and nature-loving families. We specialise in romantic getaways to help you destress and re-connect. Ideally situated to enjoy the trails, forest rock pools and picnic spots or to just chill on your veranda with binocs, a book or sundowners. There are 5 free-standing exceptionally well-equipped, comfortable, self-catering cottages; 2 Standard and 3 Luxury cottages. The luxury cottages include complimentary WiFi and Comprehensive Satellite DSTV and have a Queen instead of a Double bed in the main bedroom. We also offer a traditional Breakfast and Dinner Buffet on our picturesque Lily Pond Deck. Although there is no spa on site, we have several mobile massage and beauty therapists that can attend to your needs right in the privacy of your cottage. Come rejuvenate in the Magic of the Forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing