We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had the most wonderful and memorable experience at Forest Edge far exceeding our wildest expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Ranked #2 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Citrusdal, South Africa
2 reviews
“We had the most wonderful and memorable experience at Forest Edge far exceeding our wildest expectations!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived at dusk to the most romantic forest cottage set at the forest's edge. Ronel is extremely well organized and had already switched the lights on for us. The cottage, built in the style of the woodcutters of old, was immaculate and luxuriously appointed. Everything and all information we needed was provided for in the cottages. It was incredible to shower outside under the stars and this set the tone for the rest of our stay.
The grounds are immaculate and we felt extremely safe. A 10 km hike into the heart of the forest exceeded our wildest and most romantic fantasies!
I would most certainly recommend this very special place to anyone and will definitely return very soon! Congratulations to all at Forest Edge for making our stay so special!
Hedley Peter, Citrusdal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaagvlei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    34
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
175
245
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Forest Edge is Definitely a Nature-Lovers Retreat where one can be one with nature and just let the atmosphere and clean fresh air rejuvenate and cleanse one's MIND, BODY, SOUL & SPIRIT.

You will feel like a new person and ready to take on the world. Ronel is so Humble and polite and really takes her time to get to know her guests. Her staff is very kind and friendly and always goes that extra mile to make us feel special. My wife and I will definitely be back. Jerome and Chantel Walker

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find Forest Edge exactly the way it was described to us by Friends, not to far from the town of Knysna but far enough to have a full night sky of stars and be right on the door step of the Forest that makes you think 'we should come here more often'
A wonderful Getaway that is very well kept with professional Owners/managers that welcome you when you arrive.

Room Tip: They all have their own character so just enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The owner was very polite and gave us some free extras on arrival due to difficulties whilst paying (on our end, not Forest Edge's fault). The setting is very picturesque, but still very safe, and perfect for those who love walking and wildlife. If you want a luxury 5 star hotel then this is not for you, but if you want a pretty cottage where you can braii every night, see millions of stars and enjoy wildlife then Forest Edge is perfect! Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan186306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We toured the garden route for our honemoon, out of the five places we stayed forest edge was by far our favourite. The staff was very friendly and the feel of the cottages is so cosy and romantic. I will definitely return to Forest edge.

Room Tip: All the cottages are pretty much the same. We stayed in froggy pond ans as the name suggest we looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed there for 2 Nights and thought it was absolutely amazing! You feel like you're far away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Friendly staff and animals. The cottage has everything one needs including DVDs you can watch on a cold evening. Definately one of the better places we've ever been.

Algie & Rowena Jooste

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Algie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

we had a great 3 day stay at this establishment. very comfy little cottages with all the amenities we needed. great for the kids with safe grounds and jungle gym etc. and 2 donkeys to visit. walks in the indigenous forest are magical. 5 cottages makes it a good place to be with friends/family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
6.9 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
13.0 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
12.3 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 101 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 19 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bridgewater Manor
Bridgewater Manor
#1 of 101 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
9.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Property: Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Address: Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Edge is ideal for Honeymooners, Mountain-bikers, Birdwatchers, trail-walkers and nature-loving families. We specialise in romantic getaways to help you destress and re-connect. Ideally situated to enjoy the trails, forest rock pools and picnic spots or to just chill on your veranda with binocs, a book or sundowners. There are 5 free-standing exceptionally well-equipped, comfortable, self-catering cottages; 2 Standard and 3 Luxury cottages. The luxury cottages include complimentary WiFi and Comprehensive Satellite DSTV and have a Queen instead of a Double bed in the main bedroom. We offer in-cottage Continental Breakfast and breakfast baskets by prior arrangement, to be delivered to your cottage for you to prepare when it suits you - convenience at its best! Although there is no spa on site, we have several mobile massage and beauty therapists that can attend to your needs right in the privacy of your cottage. Come rejuvenate in the Magic of the Forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing