We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$295
$155
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$547
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Russel Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$75
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveler rating
473
41
3
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
473
41
3
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesoutdoor showerfroggy pondhansel and gretelvegetable gardenrock poolscity lifeyour doorstephiking trailsjungle gymour honeymoonpure blissmagical placespecial placeattention to detailpeace and tranquilityself catering
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 520 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find Forest Edge exactly the way it was described to us by Friends, not to far from the town of Knysna but far enough to have a full night sky of stars and be right on the door step of the Forest that makes you think 'we should come here more often'
A wonderful Getaway that is very well kept with professional Owners/managers that welcome you when you arrive.

Room Tip: They all have their own character so just enjoy!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The owner was very polite and gave us some free extras on arrival due to difficulties whilst paying (on our end, not Forest Edge's fault). The setting is very picturesque, but still very safe, and perfect for those who love walking and wildlife. If you want a luxury 5 star hotel then this is not for you, but if you want a pretty cottage where you can braii every night, see millions of stars and enjoy wildlife then Forest Edge is perfect! Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan186306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We toured the garden route for our honemoon, out of the five places we stayed forest edge was by far our favourite. The staff was very friendly and the feel of the cottages is so cosy and romantic. I will definitely return to Forest edge.

Room Tip: All the cottages are pretty much the same. We stayed in froggy pond ans as the name suggest we looked over the pond were other cottages do not have the same view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed there for 2 Nights and thought it was absolutely amazing! You feel like you're far away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Friendly staff and animals. The cottage has everything one needs including DVDs you can watch on a cold evening. Definately one of the better places we've ever been.

Algie & Rowena Jooste

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Algie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

we had a great 3 day stay at this establishment. very comfy little cottages with all the amenities we needed. great for the kids with safe grounds and jungle gym etc. and 2 donkeys to visit. walks in the indigenous forest are magical. 5 cottages makes it a good place to be with friends/family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews