We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forest Edge - love, peace and beauty in nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Ranked #2 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“Forest Edge - love, peace and beauty in nature”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Forest Edge is awesome in any way. A perfect place to take a break from your every day's life. Very friendly people, very friendly pets and farm animals all around, wildlife to watch from your stoep, clean cottages with excellent beds, everything well planned and prepared even in details. An eco-friendly piece of paradise in the Knysna forest - this is Forest Edge. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: You can choose any cottage. They are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnkevanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    35
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
176
249
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

There is something for everyone at Forest Edge - our (nearly) teenaged son spent many hours happily 'hammocking' on the stoep, either reading or BBM'ing (he was happy to report good cellphone signal!) - he tumbled out mostly to feed the chickens or to duck away from the little bats at dusk; and we all loved the beautiful walks literally at the gate of Forest Edge - Drupkelders has to be seen to be believed! Our cottage was perfectly suited to our needs and we have discovered that nothing beats showering outdoors, looking onto an amazing forest. Forest Edge is easily accessible, just outside Knysna but far enough away from the crowds and hustle and bustle of civilisation. Ronel is friendly and wonderfully warm - perfect service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyMoorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Amazing place, with friendly staff:) Was definitely a very pleasant stay!! Very close to Knysna so there is lots to do. The forest walk is a great experience and I recommend having a swim in the dark fresh water :)!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakura927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It has taken us almost a year to write about this amazing spot, but we think it shows just what an impression it left on us!

Forest Edge is the most beautiful spot - in the forest yet close enough to town as well. It is wonderfully peaceful and one is encouraged to explore the property by way of paths and somewhat of a treasure hunt. The outdoor shower was a real treat!

The accommodation has everything one could want and is also child friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for Ronel and her wonderful team. We hope to visit very soon again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneCapeTown79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you ever get the urge for a break - away from the hustle and bustle of city life - this is the perfect spot.
Imagine dead silence except for birds chirping, the odd cow mooing and the odd monkey screeching........no city related sounds!!
The cottages are set on the edge of the Knysna forest where you can settle on your private veranda and enjoy the peace and quiet while doing some serious bird watching or just listen to the sounds of the forest. The cottages are brilliantly equipped (even a hairdryer and iron:))
For the more active, Forest Edge is a stones throw from the many amazing walking trails through the forest. Ronel owns Forest Edge and is incredibly knowledgeable about the area, as well as the difficulty and time required for each trail. Over and above being knowledgeable, she is also an amazing person who really cares for her guests' and for her establishment.
Do yourself a favour and visit Ronel at Forest Edge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinLHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have been back to Forest Edge twice and will hopefully return again soon. It has to be one of my favourite holiday spots. On the doorstep of Millwood forest makes it a fantastic location for those that love nature. Kids also had a great time looking for animals and frogs in the 'Froggy Pond'!

Room Tip: Froggy Pond cottage is my favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

When we planned our honeymoon, we wanted to stay somewhere in nature, but have the luxury of our home. We got all that at Forest Edge. We stayed for 8 glorious days, travelled the whole of Knysna area, doing 3 day hikes, seeing wolfs(real wolfs in South Africa), went to Buffelo Bay daily and jumped out of trees on our canopy tour! (My Love wanted to bungy jump, but I didn't have the guts, so we'll have to go back!) When we came back in the evenings, we walked into a spotless little house(remember, I am still learning to prepare dinner, so there is always A LOT of dirty dishes) and could sit in the hammock and listen to the sounds of the forest while looking at the stars...... All adding up to the perfect honeymoon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
9.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
8.8 mi away
Belvidere Manor
Belvidere Manor
#17 of 30 in Knysna
281 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 21 in Sedgefield
434 reviews
12.3 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 105 in Knysna
329 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Property: Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Address: Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Edge is ideal for Honeymooners, Mountain-bikers, Birdwatchers, trail-walkers and nature-loving families. We specialise in romantic getaways to help you destress and re-connect. Ideally situated to enjoy the trails, forest rock pools and picnic spots or to just chill on your veranda with binocs, a book or sundowners. There are 5 free-standing exceptionally well-equipped, comfortable, self-catering cottages; 2 Standard and 3 Luxury cottages. The luxury cottages include complimentary WiFi and Comprehensive Satellite DSTV and have a Queen instead of a Double bed in the main bedroom. We offer in-cottage Continental Breakfast and breakfast baskets by prior arrangement, to be delivered to your cottage for you to prepare when it suits you - convenience at its best! Although there is no spa on site, we have several mobile massage and beauty therapists that can attend to your needs right in the privacy of your cottage. Come rejuvenate in the Magic of the Forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing