We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting lost in the forest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The forests of Knysna are truly magical places with undeniable power to relax and reset the mind. We wanted a place where we never felt far away from the forest, with easy access to some awesome walks and activities and privacy and quiet were non-negotiable. We took a chance on Forest Edge and were pleasantly surprised. The room was absolutely spotless and fully equipped and the staff managed to clean and service the room while we were out every day. Falling asleep to the symphony of the forest and waking up to countless bird calls - combined with at least one visit to the indescribably beautiful Drupkelders - will have even the most highly strung traveler mellowed out before they leave.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 488 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We decided to have a little break from reality (since we live very close to Forest Edge), but we only wish we could have stayed there longer. It was a super experience with so much to offer - both at the Unit and in the surrounding areas. We absolutely loved our time away at Forest Edge and we would highly recommend the venue for anyone looking to stay in the area. A special note should be made of how welcoming, friendly and helpful management was. All-in-all, a magical getaway for us both, in a secluded spot on the Forest Edge. Thank you for making our Valentine's weekend so special :)

Room Tip: We picked Fire Fly as we felt it was the most secluded of the units available ... but we walked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked for 3 nights at Forest Edge and actually stayed for 6! It was the perfect getaway cottage - near enough to Knysna and Sedgefield for all the conveniences and right next to the Indigenous Forest for all the walks and nature. The cottages are beautifully appointed, clean and private. Everything you need is in them, except your food and drink. Don't worry about the lack of DSTV either as you get a wonderful DVD selection in each cottage. Whether you want to laze in a hammock all afternoon, braai, walk through forest, enjoy the stars taking a nightime shower outside or explore Knysna and the surrounding area then you should give Forest edge some serious consideration. We honestly loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusannahvS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Having spent 3 nights at the Forest's Edge, where the sounds of the forest and the early morning mist with the smells of nature make this a true nature lover's retreat. There is a wonderful sense of history from the early woodcutters of the Tsitsikamma forests to the tales of gold, elephants and pioneers. The self catering cottage 'Fairy Den' was completely equipped and the veranda hammock a pleasure! Of great interest to me were the permaculture gardens and the Garden of Meditation. I have returned relaxed, refreshed and ready to tackle my goals!

Room Tip: All 5 cottages had the same layout, just slightly differing outlooks and have 'heritage' bat...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Forest Edge is a very serene, quiet, relaxing place that is extremely well maintained. Only a couple of minutes drive from Knysna, which has a ton of things to do.The cottages are all similar, and are very romantic, with a lovely patio to sit on and an outside shower.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

With the forest on your doorstep,the beach only a stone's throw away and the vibing village of Knysna just around the corner, Forest Edge really is an ideal destination for holiday makers who'd like to sample a bit of everything! Whether you're a nature enthusiast or just want to spend the evening snoozing in your hammock, your host, Ronel, will make sure that your stay is so comfortable that it will be hard to say goodbye :) With buffet of fun stuff to do and accommodation that feels like home away from home, my family and I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in the Firefly cottage for a week over Xmas and had an absolutely incredible time. The location of the cottages in the Knysna forest, away from the hustle and bustle of town was just what we were looking for, although when we had to go to town for supplies or felt the urge to explore one of the many stunning beaches close by...it was only a few minutes away. One of my favourite past-times was chilling in the hammock on our verandah overlooking the forest, paging through magazines only to wake up a couple minutes later to realize I dozed off. But this place offers something to everyone and with having stayed for a week, there were still plenty more things we wanted to do and never got to. Stunning hikes, picnic spots next to the river, horse rides you name it. We found the service incredible and was surprised many a time with the thought and consideration that went into small things that made life easier and staying here a delight. Thanks Ronel and staff for great memories. We'll definately be back to visit hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
12.4 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
101 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
164 reviews
5.0 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 22 in Sedgefield
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 107 in Knysna
339 reviews
4.2 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
10.9 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Address: Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: $66 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Edge is ideal for Honeymooners, Mountain-bikers, Birdwatchers, trail-walkers and nature-loving families. We specialise in romantic getaways to help you destress and re-connect. Ideally situated to enjoy the trails, forest rock pools and picnic spots or to just chill on your veranda with binocs, a book or sundowners. There are 5 free-standing exceptionally well-equipped, comfortable, self-catering cottages; 2 Standard and 3 Luxury cottages. The luxury cottages include complimentary WiFi and Comprehensive Satellite DSTV and have a Queen instead of a Double bed in the main bedroom. We also offer a traditional Breakfast and Dinner Buffet on our picturesque Lily Pond Deck. Although there is no spa on site, we have several mobile massage and beauty therapists that can attend to your needs right in the privacy of your cottage. Come rejuvenate in the Magic of the Forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing