We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“back to the future”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Ranked #1 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Secunda, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“back to the future”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for 8 days in a quaint woodcutter's house from a time when life was slower, simpler and more meaningful. Sitting on the verandah and looking across the lily-covered pond to THE forest of award-winning book "Circles in the Forest" by Dalene Matthee, is indescribable! Combine this with state of the art solar power, water purification and organic vegetables and you have a winner! We will be back!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kobusvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    32
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
173
241
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This retreat will surprise you, in a highly positive way. Rejuvenation in the historical forests of Knysna, reliving the stories of the woodcutters, comforting environment that makes you feel you have arrived at the home you always wanted. We were very sad to leave after our 7 days stay and we will be back sooner than we think. If you are ever in Knysna this is the place to be, away from the madding crowds but with a scenic drive to the town if you need to get into civilisation. Also recommended nearby is the Cheese Making one day course, and Isabel the masseur. Thanks for making our stay special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerlayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This facility deserves 5 stars in my view. Great care has been taken to ensure everything is readily available yet you still have the feeling you are in the forest and surrounded by nature. The hands on management provided by the owner (Ronel) makes you feel right at home. There is truly nothing I would improve about the facility and I'm grateful for the energy put into keeping this facility at the highest possible standards which ensured my sons and I had an awesome holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The perfect getaway,hidden in the lushes forests near Knysna. With plenty of great day trips in the surrounding area's incl nature walks, visiting the old Gold Mill or a trip to the town of Knysna...

Forest Edge is great value for money & a worth while weekend away!

J

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JockStrap911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

An amazing place to stay - the cabins are cozy and comfortable with a great fire place and real comfy hammock. The bird life is abundant and baboons are entertaing. There are many walks around the cottages and the scenery fantastic. Highly recommended spot!

Room Tip: All five cottages are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillybeans_8860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a wonderful time at Forest Edge. A tranquil and relaxing setting - the cottage is well equipped and Ronel has paid attention to detail (hairdryer & electric blanket in the room) which is such an unexpected treat and she is always at hand to offer advice or help.

A stunning fireplace for the cold and rainy days and for the hot afternoons a comfy hammock overlooking a lovely pond.

The surrounding area is magnificent and the forest is beautiful.

Definitely a repeatable experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Renee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

To get in touch with nature, and the peace and tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of stressful life, this is the place to go...Opening your curtain and looking out onto the most beautiful gardens, see the cows across the meadows grazing is very calming and soothing. it is also great to be in a place where the environment is so truly respected and valued. Having an outdoor shower is an awesome experience even in the rain:)

Room Tip: Every room is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
6.9 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
13.0 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
12.3 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#2 of 100 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 19 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bridgewater Manor
Bridgewater Manor
#3 of 100 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
9.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Property: Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Address: Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Edge is ideal for Honeymooners, Mountain-bikers, Birdwatchers, trail-walkers and nature-loving families. We specialise in romantic getaways to help you destress and re-connect. Ideally situated to enjoy the trails, forest rock pools and picnic spots or to just chill on your veranda with binocs, a book or sundowners. There are 5 free-standing exceptionally well-equipped, comfortable, self-catering cottages; 2 Standard and 3 Luxury cottages. The luxury cottages include complimentary WiFi and Full Satellite DSTV and have a Queen instead of a Double bed in the main bedroom. We offer breakfast baskets by prior arrangement, to be delivered to your cottage for you to prepare when it suits you - convenience at its best! Although there is no spa on site, we have several mobile massage and beauty therapists that can attend to your needs right in the privacy of your cottage. Come rejuvenate in the Magic of the Forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing