We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where nature and comfort meet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Ranked #3 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a lovely mix between great comfort, professional service, with nature only twenty paces from your doorstep. My family and I had a marvelous time of waking up next to the Knysna Forest, exploring the surrounds and returning to the solitude of the Forest in the late afternoon.

The service at Forest Edge is extremely professional and we loved its focus on sustainability.

The lodge seems to value three things Nature, Visitors and Excellence

We will return soon

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 511 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

Forest Edge has achieved a superb balance of attention to detail and ecological harmony, in a beautifully natural environment. Everything from the booking to departure was well managed. We even received an unexpected surprise of a basket full of freshly picked veggies shortly after our arrival! We were able to explore the forest literally from our doorstep, walking to the beautiful Drupkelders pools, or doing the challenging (for us) Homtini mountain bike trail. The accomodation is comfortable, clean, and apart from food and drinks everything you need is provided. The indoor fireplace and electric blankets were great in the chilly evenings, and the hammok is perfect for snoozing in the warm sunshine. Overall, Forest Edge offers a really relaxing break from everyday life, and is certainly worth repeated visits.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We're from George and we wanted a weekend away that won't cost us an arm and a leg and where we could relax. We found it at Forest Edge and the friendly staff! You only have to take food, because the rest is there. Our boys (5 and 8 years) enjoyed themselves like never before. We took on the "Drupwater" trail route and it was a bit of a challenge for the not so fit, but worth every minute of it. Even Hansle and Grettle (donkeys) are always friendly and let you touch them. We'll be going back in December to stay longer and are already planning the trip. Can't wait!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Froggy Pond'. In the evening you relax on the 'Stoep' and look over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willem O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

forest edge is magical, we had an absolutely amazing time and cannot speak highly enough of our time there!!!! forest edge allowed easy access to the most amazing walks in the forest, as well as activities in knysna and in the surrounding area. i would go back for more at any time! andre

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

What an "AWESOME" experince! Everything about Forest Edge is wonderful, it has everything to offer! It was the most amazing 'getaway' stay we have had! It was the perfect start to a marriage. The indoor fire place keeps you warm through those chilly nights :) Relaxing in the afternoon sun on the hammock. It felt like we had the whole place to ourselves....nobody bothers you unnecessarily. The attention to detail is what impressed us the most. Thumbs up to Forest Edge!

Room Tip: We had the priveledge of staying in the "Firefly" cottage....but I would recommend any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A very pleasant and peaceful stay. The facility is very clean and well equipped. More suitable for a small family or group.

We loved the donkeys and other interesting things to see and do. Thank you Ronel - you do a splendid job!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carollh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Peaceful and lovely to relax away from the city life. Cottages are small but very comfortable and cosy. From heaters to electric blankets, the fireplace all added to us being kept warm while it was cold and wet. The attention to detail is amazing and they even provide books and DVD's for those lazy days where you just want to relax. Great hospitality and highly recommended. Jubilee Creek just up the road is definitely worth a visit for nature lovers. Knysna is close by and many attractions can be visited from here. If you love peace and quite this is the place to stay.

From: Mariana Johnstone - Port Elizabeth

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianajohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
12.4 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#2 of 111 in Knysna
371 reviews
4.2 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
9.1 mi away
Rose Roc
Rose Roc
#1 of 111 in Knysna
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 24 in Sedgefield
467 reviews
10.3 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
172 reviews
4.8 mi away
Forest Valley Cottages
Forest Valley Cottages
#3 of 6 in Rheenendal
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Address: Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: $80 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Edge is ideal for Honeymooners, Mountain-bikers, Birdwatchers, trail-walkers and nature-loving families. We specialise in romantic getaways to help you destress and re-connect. Ideally situated to enjoy the trails, forest rock pools and picnic spots or to just chill on your veranda with binocs, a book or sundowners. There are 5 free-standing exceptionally well-equipped, comfortable, self-catering cottages; 2 Standard and 3 Luxury cottages. The luxury cottages include complimentary WiFi and Comprehensive Satellite DSTV and have a Queen instead of a Double bed in the main bedroom. We also offer a traditional Breakfast and Dinner Buffet on our picturesque Lily Pond Deck. Although there is no spa on site, we have several mobile massage and beauty therapists that can attend to your needs right in the privacy of your cottage. Come rejuvenate in the Magic of the Forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing