We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Lovers Ambiance.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Ranked #2 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect Lovers Ambiance.”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

What a hidden jewel...out the buzz of town, it is such a peaceful relaxing retreat. It is private and perfect location to have quiet forest walks or afternoon picnic by the streams. Well equipped cottages, maintenance by cleaning staff is impeccable. Owner is hands on, and ensures every detail is just perfect to make your stay pleasant. If spending quality time away from everything else is the call, look no further than Forest Edge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanelani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    35
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
176
249
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Both myself and my wife had a wonderful time, we enjoyed the lovely scenery and the peacefulness of the forest. Ronel and her team was exellent. We'll definatley be back for more.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Ronel makes you feel special even before you arrive, constant mails and directions to this fabulous setting. Nestled between working farms and on the edge of the most stunning indigenous forest, lends itself to a peaceful and restful stay. The cottage is well appointed with all the modern convienencies yet with an ever present reminder of "green" environmental savings and protection.
The mystical forest is on your doorstep and a must to explore and enjoy either by foot or mountainbike. Lazy days and warm evenings spent in the hammock are splendid. Star gazers have a non polluted skyline to enjoy the wonders of the Southern Cross. What I can guarantee is that on leaving you will feel rejuninated and wondering how soon you can get back to this little special piece of Knysna. Charmaine and Llewellyn

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llewellyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Whilst we were still driving to Forest edge Ronel sent us a SMS asking about our Arrival time and whishing us a safe trip.
Upon our arrival we were welcomed heartily by Ronel, who very professionally and heartily welcomed us and showed us to our little cottage (Froggy Pond). We were informed about the do's and don'ts to ensure a pleasant stay. She also informed us of many of the activities that were available to us in the surrounding area.
There are only Five Cottages (not crowded at all) The Cottage was extremely well looked after and everything was neat and in its place. Clean bedding and Fresh towels. We were welcomed into the bedroom with a "wonder bar" chocolate each on our pillow. The Kitchen was stocked with all the utensils that were needed to prepare our own food. Although we knew that Forest Edge is a self-catering establishment there was tea and Coffey available for us to use. There is a cosy fireplace which is operational and a TV with the basic channels and DVD,s for those cold days that one feels one would like to stay at home. Once a day the little cottage gets cleaned, the beds made up and even the dishes get washed
The serenity of Forest Edge was amazing. You are on the edge of the Knysna Forest with all its beauty and peacefulness. Many activities to partake in for everybody. This is definitely the place to go to if you need rest and replenishing of your strength. You can even upon request, have a massage on your own cottage door-step.(What a Experience) If you love the City Lights, DSTV, loud music and the like, forest edge will not be the place for you.
My complements to Ronel and the Staff for making our stay at this establishment a wonderful and pleasant experience. We will definitely return again and I would recommend Forest Edge to any nature lover Young or Old.

Room Tip: Froggy Pond is a room which is on a little pond with a beautiful view of the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, North-West, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Little did I know the wonder awaiting us when I made the booking. It is beautifull, the outdoor shower was refreshing and such a great expierence with the cool fresh air and nature surrounding you while you shower. The little prayer garden took my breath away and I could just sat there for hours, listening to the sound of silence and the birds. The hammock was peacefulley and just what we need after a hard year's work. Ronel is a great hostess and surprised us one evening with organic veggies and herbs from her garden. We stayed in Froggie Pond and nothing was to much for Ronel and her team. We will go back and I recommend this nature jewel to every nature lover, make sure you do not miss it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Wonderful accommodations located next to stunning Knysna Forest, can't get any better! Well-run and eco-friendly. Highly recommended for anyone staying in the Knysna area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armst147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I loved staying at Forest Edge. It is run by Ronel who has excellent management skills and with her team do an amazing job. The cottages were very clean and I liked the fact that there are only 5 of them. It is lovely relaxing in the hammock and so peaceful especially in the meditation area. I slept exceptionally well while staying there. It is away from all the bustle of Knysna and yet not too far. The Buffels Bay beach is also nearby. Beautiful forest trails particularly Drupkelders which has an amazing rock pool to swim in.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
9.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
8.8 mi away
Belvidere Manor
Belvidere Manor
#17 of 30 in Knysna
281 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 21 in Sedgefield
434 reviews
12.3 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 105 in Knysna
329 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Property: Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
Address: Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Edge is ideal for Honeymooners, Mountain-bikers, Birdwatchers, trail-walkers and nature-loving families. We specialise in romantic getaways to help you destress and re-connect. Ideally situated to enjoy the trails, forest rock pools and picnic spots or to just chill on your veranda with binocs, a book or sundowners. There are 5 free-standing exceptionally well-equipped, comfortable, self-catering cottages; 2 Standard and 3 Luxury cottages. The luxury cottages include complimentary WiFi and Comprehensive Satellite DSTV and have a Queen instead of a Double bed in the main bedroom. We offer in-cottage Continental Breakfast and breakfast baskets by prior arrangement, to be delivered to your cottage for you to prepare when it suits you - convenience at its best! Although there is no spa on site, we have several mobile massage and beauty therapists that can attend to your needs right in the privacy of your cottage. Come rejuvenate in the Magic of the Forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing