We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location cannot be bettered in Knysna. Huge apts. 5 stars PERFECT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartments at Knysna Quays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knysna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apartments at Knysna Quays
Ranked #62 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Location cannot be bettered in Knysna. Huge apts. 5 stars PERFECT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

To see any of the other accom we stayed in whilst in South Africa just click on my profile.
Knysna Keys apartments is set smack bang in the centre of Knysna’s tourist area. You simply cannot get any closer to the best that knysna has to offer shops/bars/restaurants/marina than here. You simply walk out of the secure complexe doors and you are right in the heart of Knysna. Don’t think that these apartments may in that case suffer from noise as they certainly do not as knysna is not that kind of resort.

We were on a month long trip of SA and my friend who lives in Durban and travels all over SA as often as he can and travels to knysna as often as he can as its his favourite place in SA, simply could not believe how central these apartments are or how great they were furnished. Directly opposite our apt was the main view of Knysna quays that all the brochures seem to show. There is secure underground parking with electronic gates. The actual apartments are huge inside and furnished to an extremely high standard with just about everything you could require. So much so that you could in reality stay in them indefinitely because they had a huge fridge freezer/oven/hop/washer/dryer/microwave/huge kitchen/ironing board and iron/ TV/BBQ Braai/Large verandah with great view over knysna quays/ 2 large bedrooms/ 2 bathrooms/Intercom system to let visitors in/maid service.

Make no mistake these apartments are kitted out superbly and finished off to an extremely high standard I would have no hesitation staying here again or recommending them to anybody. We had no loud noises whatever ie night time so slept great.

Things to do around Knysna.
I assume you know all about Knysna heads etc and the boat trips etc all well worth doing. If you are wanting to go on the steam loco train you will be disappointed as it no longer runs.
However an ABSOLUTE MUST DO is to visit Knysna Elephant Park where you can walk or ride with rescued elephants and this is one of them things you do in your life and never forget, the size of these animals when you stand under them yes under them is mesmerising.
Also a trip to Plettenberg bay is worthwhile as well for the beach alone as is a trip to Mossel Bay.
Mossel Bay you could incorporate a trip into George as you have to go close to George from knysna on your way to Mossel Bay. Another place you could visit is Oudtshoorn which is north of George and is the Ostrich capital of the world. They also have the famous underground Cango Caves / Cango wildlife park where you can go in with baby cheetahs and white lion cubs / They also have the Cango Ostrich farm where you can ride an ostrich which is hilarious at Oudtshoorn. If you go further on past plettenberg bay you can also visit Storms River which is within the Tsitikamma National Park and is outstanding.
Hopefully I have given you plenty of food for thought as I assume you know most of the things to do within Knysna itself.
Conclusion
We travelled the full length of the Garden root from Capetown and flew out of Port Elizabeth upto Durban to meet up with friends, but there is no doubting that Knysna is the crown jewel of the entire garden root, and what better place to stay there than in the Knysna Quays apartments which are so well located and equipt that you could easily use them if you were working in knysna or living there long term ie they are great to come back to to unwind and sit on the verandah with a glass of wine or two and watch the boats and yachts go by just below your verandah. Or if you so wish, just walk outside and withing 60 seconds be sat in any of the many bars or restaurants..

If there is anything else you would like to know please by all means just send me a message or check out my profile for other places we stayed along the garden route and further afield in SA

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RoyPartington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed here last Nov 2010 for 3nights.
Houses are HUGE, modern, clean, super furnished, luxurious, wonderful... do you need more??! :)
The location is superb, you are just in the heart of Knysna waterfront.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
949 reviews
403 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

We drove straight to Knysna were we stayed 4 days. The local tourist office had pamphlets on different kinds of accommodations. We went to see the Protea Hotel on the waterfront and it had small rooms for 1000 with no view. The bed and breakfast recommended looked very old from the outside and uninviting. The nice places seemed to be up on the hills or in the outskirts of town and in Leisure Island. We like to be in town, so we decided to look at a self catering. We choose a one bedroom for 700 rand. It was unit 19 with a view of the restaurants and a bit of mountains across the canal. It had a comfortable queen bed, a large bathroom with separate shower (you have to have your own amenities) TV, disk player, iron, hair dryer, enough kitchen pots and pans to actually cook a meal, nice plates and stuff, paper towels, napkins, microwave, there was coffee, sugar and cream. We had a small living room, a counter for 2 and a large balcony with a small table for 4, a couple of chairs and an umbrella. There is also a BBQ. It has a washing machine and a dryer that needs the door hook repaired. We had good meals at the Italian restaurants, Mario and Limoncelo in the waterfront quays. We did the cruise of the bay with a nice glass of white wine and a plate of oysters. The Birds of Eden was a great place to visit, you see the birds really close and you can see them flying around, no cages! We spent almost 6 hours there, if the weather had been good we would have stayed longer. We were in town on a Saturday so visited the Sedgerfiel Saturday market. Almost all the vendors and buyers were white. Lovely produce and all kinds of good stuff to eat. Outside they have all kinds of crafts. Ate at the Quay 4 restaurant that had a special on Oysters and a great view. It was worth driving to the point and all around the Town and the islands. Everything closed Saturday afternoon. Sunday nothing but the supermarket and some restaurants open, they also don’t sell alcohol in a lot of places. We took a drive to lovely Belvedere, Brenton on the sea and Buffalo Bay, then we went all the way to Oudtshoorn through George, to the Congo Caves. They are the largest in Africa and very impressive. We had late Lunch at one of the Baron houses now converted in to a restaurant and B&B almost in front of the museum that was closed on Sunday. We follow our wonderful map that showed a main road back the other way. It was only a mayor road for a short time and then we went through the forest in the mountains for about 2 hours! Anything that in not marked as a highway is actually a dirt road in different conditions!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed in a lovely 2 bed apartment for 3 nights and were extremely pleased with the accommodation. The apartment is actually more like a townhouse with a living area and kitchen downstairs and 2 bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs.
The apartment was furnished to a very high standard and we had all the facilities we needed including both a dishwasher and DSTV.

The apartment is located on a secure, upmarket "village estate" with great views out onto the canals - our apartment had its own private jetty out onto the canals!!! The area was quiet when we were there as it was winter but I imagine it is very busy and popular during the summer months.

The apartment was a 5 minute walk to the waterfront complex and a 10 minute walk to Knysna town centre.

Overall a great stay and we would recommend this aprtment to other travellers!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazzle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamphsire, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

We had a 3 bed town house with garage facing on to the water which was in a gated community 100m from waterfront shops & restaurants. Unfortunately we didn't get any sun on to our patio, but this may be welcome at hotter times of the year. Knysna is a lovely town and despite the waterfront being a little touristy, it was a convenient location from which to tour the surrounding area and then return to some reasonable restaurants in the evening. 34 Degrees South is a fun and very popular restaurant although we preferred the simplicity and service of Marios next door. To our surprise the owners had a kayak and paddle boards which we were allowed to use and which made our stay all the more enjoyable venturing off around the harbour and lagoon. The accommodation was very good if beset by a few minor problems including cockroaches, although all problems raised with the letting agent were attended to swiftly. Knysna was one our favourite spots on the Garden Route and we'd look forward to staying here again, although now we know the area, we would choose very carefully at which of the apartments we would rent.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headleyhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#28 of 30 in Knysna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#13 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knysna Quays Accommodation
2.0 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#7 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments at Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments at Knysna Quays

Property: Apartments at Knysna Quays
Address: 57 Spinnaker Drive | Knysna Quays, Waterfront, Knysna, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing