We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good breakfast, great views, helpful staff. Love it”
Review of Azure House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azure House
Ranked #54 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, good breakfast, great views, helpful staff. Love it”
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We were only three for one night but really liked it and wished we had stayed longer. Sydne was really friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and clean and, as the B&B is on a hillside, the view over the harbour is stunning. Having breakfast delivered to our door was as added bonus!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexBig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    34
    14
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We did not stay in this hotel, because in spite of our timely booking, we were told after arrival that our room was given away because we did not pay in advance. We were told in a very arrogant manner that it was our fault: they need the full amount in advance, because there are so many no-shows. I find it a shame that there seems to be no trust in each other in South Africa - I just cannot imagine making a reservation and not showing up. And making a bank transfer while you are doing the Garden Route is very hard indeed. So to make a long and frustrating story short: after a long and tiring drive, the young arrogant lady showed us the door like we were little children.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We had hoped to stay in the Waterfront Lodge guest house on the outskirts of town where we had stayed once before and enjoyed the hospitality shown and fantastic lagoon-side position, but it was full. That proved a slice of luck as it is one of the guesthouses which appear affected by roadworks on the main Cape Town - Port Elizabeth road which the authorities, with suicidal zeal, are unnecessarily widening right into the Western outskirts of this beautifully sited small town. This is madness and threatens to undermine much of what makes this a great Garden Route place to stop which is its homely small town feel and magnificent setting. Take care when choosing where to stay, although things might improve when the widening works have finished.

Azure House is that side of town but fortunately situated high above the main road in the upmarket Paradise residential area. It is billed as having "elements of Cape Cod and the Caribbean" and I suppose it does in its cool white and grey decor and blue furnishings. However white throughout, including the wooden flooring and tables (if I remember correctly) takes a fair bit of upkeep and when we stayed our accommodation was showing a few rough edges and needed a refreshing coat of Dulux in places.

Seduced by the picture in our accommodation guide of the view of the lagoon from the room balconies, we booked bed and breakfast expecting an en suite room and was given three-bedroomed, two-storey accommodation complete with kitchen and seating area. OK we weren't complaining.

The bathrooms continued the slightly tired feel with discoloured grouting and loose loo seats and the separate shower was tiny while the soundproofing between the room next door was pretty non existent. This wasn't bad, but just a little below the exceptional standard experienced of the bed and breakfasts we found throughout this and previous visits to South Africa. It shouldn't put you off Azure House however because it also has an awful lot going for it.

The view from the veranda (all rooms appear to have outside areas) was sensational, Looking across the lagoon to the "heads" in the far distance it was even better than the photograph that had originally enticed us. Living space was good and I suspect even better in the main building rooms overlooking the pool area (our accommodation was in an adjoining annex). The bed was comfortable, the pool area very pleasant with more super views, there was a nice open fronted covered lounge area overlooking the pool to browse local guides and have a coffee and the owner was young, bright and enthusiastic.

Breakfasts are served on your balcony and change daily. Sometimes they are cooked and sometimes cold. You are not give a choice and some, like us, might miss the interaction with other guests in a morning breakfast room gathering. However they were generally good and generous. You can walk into town in about 15 minutes but you'd have to be pretty fit to manage the climb on the way back, but parking in the town is easy. There are plenty of steps around the property so it may not suite the elderly or infirm

Stars include an additional award for the view.

,

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Great location with lovely views over the Knysna lagoon.
Tastefully decorated rooms.
Noise travels easily through the wooden walls and our baclony was shared with the owner, leading to a lack of privacy.
Minimal kitchen equipment, our room didnt have an oven but did have barbeque and microwave.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandanna33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Views were good but house is high up and to walk to town and back, despite being fit, was not an option.

Owner/manager young and personable but took absoluely no voluntary interest in us after check in.

The place is in dire need of several coats of paint. It is tired. Poor lighting in main bathroom and loo made it diffcult to see to shave.

Complimentary coffee is as bad as it gets. Cooked breakfasts are basically a huge amount of badly scrambled eggs and bacon. No choice of breakfast..

Rooms are clean, however and beds comfortable. Showers are good and hot water plentiful. Wi fi connection, whilst welcome, was iffy at best. Especially from cottage 5.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ogwen789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

The rooms were large with a comfortable bed and plenty of cupboard space with a wonderful view over the lagoon. There was also an excellent kitchen and the car was secure behind locked gates overnight. Breakfasts were served on the verandah outside each room but, although these were of a good quality, there was no choice of cereal or cooked breakfast - you had what came or went without (no good if you don't like sweet cereal or cheese/cooked meats at breakfast time). We saw little of the owner after the initial meeting on arrival, but there was a book giving advice about restaurants and things to do. The garden/pool area was quiet and attractive, but it was the view which left the lasting impression.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The no choice breakfasts
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatloverCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Azure House is situated in the hilly Paradise area of Knysna. The roads are on steep hills and somewhat tricky to negotiate.

Each 'cottage' apartment has an allocated parking space just inside the driveway.

We were greeted by Sydnee and shown around the place. She was very bubbly and friendly.

We were in Cottage 2 which had a large decked patio area complete with barbeque, table and chairs. French doors lead inside to the kitchen/dining area with a sofa. Beyond that was the bedroom with the shower room leading off it.

Everything was clean and well kept and decorated in neutral colours. The light only came through the french doors but it was enough for the rooms.

New carpet had just been laid in the bedroom.

The breakfast was large but didn't do much for me. I'm not a fan of scrambled eggs and there was a lot of it. You can pay extra for filter coffee, worth it if you don't like the taste of chicory.

The view from Azure House is good, a wide vista across the lagoon. The pool area is small but catches lots of sun. The water seemed cloudy to me but the kreepy krawly was going all the time.

The town high street is within easy walking distance and the area felt very safe. We wanted to eat at the Oyster Company but when we got there at 8.30 on Friday the kitchen had closed. Yes, Knysna is that kind of place.

When you use the shower room in Cottage 2 you should be aware that you can hear people upstairs talking. The sound travels through the metal air vent. We just closed the interleading door to stop it.

Azure House is well run and clean, in a good position and has a nice pool area. at R720 a night it came out more expensive than most of the other places we stayed but the cheaper B&Bs are further out of town near the N2.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fatpigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#21 of 127 in Knysna
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 127 in Knysna
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridgewater Manor
Bridgewater Manor
#5 of 105 in Knysna
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 127 in Knysna
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#11 of 127 in Knysna
396 reviews
12.5 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azure House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure House

Property: Azure House
Address: 65 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Azure House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Azure House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing