We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of good points”
Review of Azure House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azure House
Ranked #53 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lots of good points”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Wife liked it more than I did. Very large rooms (suite) with great view. Rooms (decor) a bit tired in my view. Challenging park place. Interesting steps up to the room. Breakfast served in the room was good, but a bit cool by the time it arrived. Hotel was fully booked, although there were lots of other B&Bs in the area, so it suggests my wife's view was the more usual. No reason not to go again

Room Tip: one closest to the entrance has the most difficult steps and park place. Not suitable for the infirm
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    14
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Smith family recently spent a few nights at Azure House Knysna....the accommodation was generally great but unfortunately the beds were not comfortable. The location is superb with a 10/10 outlook!

Room Tip: Take the upstairs self catering apartment...has separate secure parking and access is easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I will start with the fact that I think that every one should know about it for they own safety.
I stayed in this hotel couple of time before , this time I came with all my family ( 7 people) that came to visit me from overseas. we came late at night and went to sleep at midnight , at 5:00 am my father wake up and saw the door open and his phone and 2 cameras was stolen . it was very hard for us spaicely that all the pictures form the trip that almost finish was on the camera and no where else. for sure it's not the fult of the owners of the hotel! but I was except for something on the horrible feeling. breakfast or glass of something cold... we didn't got nothing and even asked to pay the full price for this night
that any way was already very expensive because the loose of the cameras . I was very upset and left with very bed feeling.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrNadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed 1 night with a friend visiting from California. Was very impressed with the high standard and cool relaxing feel of the rooms, friendly service and location to the Knysna Waterfront and town, making meals easy. Breakfast was wonderful, served on the priovate balcony/terrace with fabulous view of the Lagoon. This is a very special place and I cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Most rooms are lovely. Views awesome. The 2 besroom suite I used had a fabulous private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furryneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We walked into Azure House but they were full that day. The host Sydne recommended a vacation rental apartment at Knysna Quay. Excellent place with huge balcony, bbq pit and comfortable rooms. Sydne was very helful and quick to attend to all our needs.
Did not experience with Azure House but the host Sydne deserves commendation.

Room Tip: Try their vacation rental apartment. Very convenient and near Knysna Quay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi_9909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at Azure during Jan 2012. We would describe our stay as very average. It says that the guest house is four star but should really be three star. The room we stayed in was large and spacious but the interior needs to be updated. The bedroom had a small en suite but soon became damp as the bathroom didnt have suficient ventilation. This lead to us both having the sniffles for the two nights! The positioning was good, a short drive to the waterfront and was well sign posted.The car park was small and had their been more people staying i think we would have been parked in. We were a little disapointed with the breakfast served. i.e breakfast for two was served on one plate and was minimal at best. The pool was small and not very appealling albeit not the best weather but i still wouldnt go in a pool i couldnt see the bottom of and didnt think was too clean.

I would say that Azure is average and would suit people looking for a self accomodation option close to the town centre, but the rates should command a better standard of accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We arrived in Knysna on 24 December 2011 with no accommodation lined-up, after phoning some of the guesthouses (listed on Trip Advisor) we came across Azure who had accommodation available for the 2 nights we requested (in on the 24th and out on the 26th). Apparently she had just had a cancellation. Lucky us we thought.

The guesthouse was incredibly noisy with neighbours and cars in and out constantly. Unfortunately the guesthouse is too small for the number of rooms and parking spots they have crammed in there. If you prefer a little privacy and quiet.... don't go there.

Worst of it all was we were called at 3:30am on Christmas morning by our security company informing us we had been robbed at home, we jumped in the car and at 5am I sms'd the woman in charge at Azure to apologise and explain we had had to make our way back to JHB. I was then informed that if she could not get somebody else to take the room that we would still be charged for that evening. I never heard back from her but we did get a bill of nearly R1500 put through on our credit card for one very noisy evenings accommodation.

Not worth it.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.1 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.3 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#21 of 126 in Knysna
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 126 in Knysna
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Grove
Laguna Grove
#11 of 103 in Knysna
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#10 of 126 in Knysna
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azure House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure House

Property: Azure House
Address: 65 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Azure House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Azure House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing