We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful!”
Review of Bridgewater Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bridgewater Manor
Ranked #1 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were moved to Bridgewater by our travel agent after a disasterous experience at another guest house in Kynsa - and it turned out to be a really lucky occurrance!. The manager, Vee, is a real gem, how lucky for the owners to have her there! The place is immaculate, the breakfasts wonderful and the staff charming - nothing too much trouble, Vee was always willing to sort out dinner arrangements for us and keen that we should enjoy every aspect of our stay - you can't ask for more!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARGARET S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
128
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Bridgewater Manor, Vee was very helpful and made us and all the guests very welcome. The breakfasts were great, such a spread, don't know how we didn't put on weight. The room with the view was such a bonus, we could sit and look over the lagoon, everything was lovely. We would certainly recommend a visit there.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidJanet111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

bridgewater in Knysna is not only a freindly and comfortable warm Guest House but it is so picturesque. You have such a beautiful view from this Guesthouse over the Lagoon. The rooms are spaciious and warm and the owners are warm and freindly. This is a Guset hosue that I will recommend to tourists and travellers as it is convenient, easy to find.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathystours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We had such a lovely stay at Bridgewater Manor. Vee was so welcoming, really made us feel at home.

The room was lovely and very comfortable with a view to the lagoon and doors out to a balcony. Everything spotless.
The amenities in the room are great, including a fan, WiFi and easy access to charging points for phone & camera etc.

The good sized swimming pool in the garden was great for an evening and morning swim. The view of the manor from walking down to the pool is lovely.

Breakfast was gorgeous with several options including a lovely cooked breakfast and plenty of coffee.

Wish we'd stayed for more nights!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Colle sur Loup, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The manageress, Vee, was the perfect hostess - made us feel really welcome - like members of her family! Our room looked over the lagoon - superb views. Full, copious breakfast. Recommended.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is really great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonIngrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Spend 1 night here in december 11, the Bridgewater Manor is a 4 star B*B. The view from some bedrooms and the Lounge/ breakfast room is of the Lagoon and the 'heads' towards the indian ocean.

The hostess is very friendly and accomodating.

The only negative is that the garden bedroom we had smelled damp.

Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: choose a room with a view rather than a 'garden' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penbay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Right from the moment we entered the gate the welcome and care was very warm and friendly. We had booked the honeymoon suite which was stunning, offering great views of Knysna lagoon and the Knysna heads in the distance. The bathroom is great with a large bath and double shower, just perfect for my wife, who was over the moon, and I have to say I enjoyed it as well. 'V' the manager was able to book us in to a great restaurant, 34 Degrees, on the first night and that was excellent as well. Breakfast was a delight every morning with plenty of choice and 'V' was always on hand to offer good ideas for excursions and even on our departure, heading for Cape Town, she advised stopping at Hermanus to watch the Whales, which proved to be fantastic as the whales were putting on a great performance. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.8 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.5 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
4.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgewater Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgewater Manor

Property: Bridgewater Manor
Address: 33 Circular Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgewater Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Bridgewater Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing