We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best guest house in Knysna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Castollini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Castollini
Ranked #37 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gauteng
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best guest house in Knysna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

To Nan and the Villa team - we had the most amazing family holiday. The Villa is beautiful and the facilities of the best. No request was ever too big or too small. We felt so at home and part of the family. The service, food, accommodation, ambiance, and overall experience was absolutely amazing. We will never forget this holiday. Nan was always ready with stories about the area, giving guidance on where to go and what to see. We will definitely be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanRaturat, Manager at Villa Castollini, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. It was my pleasure to interact with such an interesting family. We try to live up to our welcome motto, "Arrive as strangers and leave us as friends". Look forward to your next visit. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    20
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
80
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had three nights at this delightful family run guest house, the staff were very friendly and very welcoming from the moment we drove up. Lovely Italian style rooms, everything you could want in a charming holiday area. The breakfast was yummy, with everything cooked fresh from a full english to eggs benedict. Nothing was too much trouble but as in all South Africa a car is a must as up a hill and too far to walk to town.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Villa Castollini provided the perfect venue for our daughter's wedding, 30 September 2012. All the guests had a fabulous stay and the preparations for the ceremony on the beach and the reception at the Villa were professionally overseen by Nan, her staff and the recommended service providers. Even a 9 hour power outage didn't cause a ripple on the day.To top it all, the weather was just as ordered! We will have wonderful memories of Jessica's wedding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent two nights at Villa Castollini as my sister was celebrating her wedding there as well.
The accommodation was neat and tasteful and the view from our room took my breath away.
Breakfast in the morning was a treat with our own personal chef - Nan.
The wedding took place on a cold grey day but the manner in which the wedding reception was setup, one would not even know that it was a cold winters day - Nan and her team went out of their way to make everything perfect for my sister's wedding! Thank you to Nan, Patrick and the team for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We got married at the Villa in January this year and couldn't have asked for a better venue.

* stunning views
* great service from Nan, Patrick and the team
* beautiful, comfortable rooms
* relaxing atmosphere
* great swimming pool
* reasonable bar prices

And a big postive for us is that you can take your dog, as long as they are well behaved and socialised. Our dog had a ball with the resident dogs.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sole suite which has an amazing view over the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun2009_Sun_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

As regular visitors to South Africa, this is our favourite destination to start the holiday: The tranquil setting with its stunning vistas immediately demands you relax and breathe in the wonderful healing nature of the venue. The proprietors, Nan and Patrick, are the perfect hosts achieving a great balance between attention and discretion: Their attention to detail is first class. The food is always very fresh, of excellent quality and well presented. Our stay was faultless!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Our experience here was excellent. The room was amazing, great views, prime treatment by Nam and Patrick. They make the place even better!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lusendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Brenton On Rocks Guesthouse
Brenton On Rocks Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Knysna Belle
The Knysna Belle
#34 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
#3 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#15 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
11.0 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 14 in Sedgefield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Castollini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Castollini

Property: Villa Castollini
Address: Brenton-on-Sea Road | Brenton Hill, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Castollini 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Castollini sits perched high up on the prestigious Western Head of the Garden Route town of Knysna. This remarkable Tuscan styled 5 star guest house is known for having one of the most spectacular and breathtaking views in South Africa. If your idea of a great getaway is a haven of privacy, luxurious and comfortable accommodation, superb breakfasts, warm and nurturing surrounds and hosts that offer genuine hospitality and a "nothing is too much trouble" philosophy, then the Villa has to be your first choice. The management, staff and our friendly resident dogs will ensure that you have a wonderful stay at the Villa. "Enter as Strangers and Leave as Friends" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Castollini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing