We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Return to Over and Over Again...”
Review of Villa Castollini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Castollini
Ranked #40 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2012

As regular visitors to South Africa, this is our favourite destination to start the holiday: The tranquil setting with its stunning vistas immediately demands you relax and breathe in the wonderful healing nature of the venue. The proprietors, Nan and Patrick, are the perfect hosts achieving a great balance between attention and discretion: Their attention to detail is first class. The food is always very fresh, of excellent quality and well presented. Our stay was faultless!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 139 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

Our experience here was excellent. The room was amazing, great views, prime treatment by Nam and Patrick. They make the place even better!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lusendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Nan and Patrick run this beautiful B&B in a delightful way. They are very welcoming and friendly, yet leave you to enjoy the privacy you want. The rooms are stunning. We had the cheapest room which was still wonderfully equipped and spacious although, if it's a view you're after, it may be worth paying a bit more to see the lagoon. The views over the lagoon are breathtaking - a nicer spot for an al-fresco breakfast is hard to imagine. Yes, it's more expensive than some other places but the old adage of "you get what you pay for" certainly rings true. We were guests at a wedding which was held at Villa Castollini - Nan and her team did a wonderful job and I would recommend it as an option for anyone looking for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraser S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

What a special place with a simply stunning view and friendly, efficient staff. We spent the first four days of our honeymoon in the Sole Suite and it was everything and more than it was described. Spacious and comfortable with excellent amenities. The breakfasts were amazing and cooked fresh with the most personal touch from Nan. A fews minutes drive to Brenton beach in one direction and the Knysna Waterfront in the other, this place is just a gem we would recommend over and over. The honesty bar was a very special touch! The perfect gettaway!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

If you look a this the exclusive B&B/Hotel, as a banal B&B you are gong to find it expensive. But it's not banal, it overlooks the Knysna lagoon, perched un a hill top ridge, between oacean and lagoon.

You are first welcomed by a big friendly dog, and then by the managers Nan and Patrick (qui est francophone, du coté de Brive!).

The room we had was an upgrade into a very spacious bedroom on the 1st (not ground) floor with an extensive balcony, and that faboulous view.

Taken as a taste of 5 star luxury at a 3 star price, it's a bargain.

It's advantage is also it's drawback, because you do need a car to get anywhere for restaurants.

An unforgettable stop.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good, but the upstairs (1st floor) room we had was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stopeter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanapie, Manager at Villa Castollini, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Fondest regards from Nan and Patrick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We spent 5 nights at Villa Castollini and loved every minute of it.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with fabulous bathrooms and great amenities. The staff are warm and friendly, and Nan runs the place with the kind of friendly efficiency most B&Bs only dream of. And the breakfasts were simply superb: extremely generous, beautifully cooked and set us up for the rest of the day!
The views are also outstanding, and being 10 mins out of town made it feel like a hidden gem. I can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missybridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Lets start with the positives. Wonderful views, very nice pool, good sized room and good bathroom. Interesting town.

We have returned from 3 weeks in South Africa. The hotels were all either very good or excellent and the food throughout superb. We were recommended this hotel by a South African friend who stops there.

The cost was R 1500 for the night plus 3.5% surcharge if you want to pay by credit card. Quite expensive.

We found the decor of the hotel lacking in taste. . Think Up Pompei set design + upmarket Blackpool landlady. The paintings were truly awful and the decor poor quality copies of originals. Very non African place.

We had a faulty towers incident involving the landlady and her partner trying to replace the batteries in the safe but these were amusing.

The breakfast was the worst we had in 3 weeks. Stale croissants presumably from a cash and carry ( and bread is normally wonderful in S Africa) really poor quality bacon which we left on our plate. Hash browns had come out of a packet from presumably the local cash and carry and were hard and exceedingly well done . I know that others have liked this place but this was the most disappointing and we thought worst value place we stayed at in a three week trip

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank max4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanapie, Manager at Villa Castollini, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

I am truly sorry that you had a disappointing experience at the Villa. However, I must confess to be a bit confused. With regards the breakfast, the review just prior to yours was written by a guest having the same breakfast as yours that morning. Perhaps you could have sent it back and asked for it to be redone if it was not to your liking.

With regards the decor, we are advertised as a Tuscan Styled Guest House and am therefore at a loss as to what the "African" theme has to do with us.

Poor service rating. After carrying your bags, offering you tea, making you comfortable, recommending a dinner restaurant and enquiring the next morning as to how your dinner was and whether you had a good night, both of which got a positive response, I am not sure what else I was supposed to do.

February is our high season in South Africa and paying R1500.00 for the night for 2 people in our Luna suite, including the poor breakfast, is by no means expensive.

I sincerely hope that you have a better experience elsewhere if and when you next visit the Garden Route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.9 mi away
The Knysna Belle
The Knysna Belle
#32 of 129 in Knysna
132 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cambalala
Cambalala
#4 of 129 in Knysna
215 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#23 of 129 in Knysna
302 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
107 reviews
2.4 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Castollini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Castollini

Address: Brenton-on-Sea Road | Brenton Hill, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $109 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Castollini 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Castollini sits perched high up on the prestigious Western Head of the Garden Route town of Knysna. This remarkable Tuscan styled 5 star guest house is known for having one of the most spectacular and breathtaking views in South Africa. If your idea of a great getaway is a haven of privacy, luxurious and comfortable accommodation, superb breakfasts, warm and nurturing surrounds and hosts that offer genuine hospitality and a "nothing is too much trouble" philosophy, then the Villa has to be your first choice. The management, staff and our friendly resident dogs will ensure that you have a wonderful stay at the Villa. "Enter as Strangers and Leave as Friends" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Villa Castollini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing