We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping good eating no go”
Review of Leisure Isle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leisure Isle Lodge
Ranked #20 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rhoen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sleeping good eating no go”
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Even though the rooms and the service are good the experience made in the integrated Restaurant "Daniella,s" wasn't really stunning. Obviously South African based ratings such as '100 best Restaurants in SA" cannot be taken seriously: Lamb rack was fatty, wine high in price (no indicator of age in the wine list) but served already open; cork dust spoiling the first glass, duck breast dry and the (famous) chef when asked for comment not available... usually not a class of hundred best

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hanzzen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    49
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
150
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WASHINGTON
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Manager and staff were never available when needed. Manager had a bad attitude when asked for assistance. We never did receive our breakfasts and room windows were left wide open causing them to be VERY cold when we returned. Heat was turned off and unable to reheat in time to retire for the night.

Dirty floors, stained bed covers, rooms were very noisey from the kitchen and constant banging of dishes and loud voices.

I would not recommend this establishment except if your only desire is to play golf. There is a golf course near by.

Helpful?
Thank SHANLEWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELGIUM
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We have stayed for 2 nights in this magnificent place. We had a suite with lagoon view and it was wonderful in every respect. A very bright room with a big bath tub and shower and very well decorated. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is more than excellent and a real treat. Although Knysna has many restaurants to offer, we decided to have diner in the restaurant of the hotel both evenings, because the food was superb. We felt sorry, that we could only stay for 2 nights and we will definitely go back again on our next visit to Knysna. No doubt about it !

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KRISTELKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

This is a great, small, beautiful, well-managed lodge with friendly staff. The location of Leisure Isle is great - you can walk on the beach or around the small island with its curving streets and intimate neighbourhood feel.

The lodge is on the way to the Heads, and is a short, easy drive from the main town. The restaurant - Daniela's - has a creative and interesting menu, and the food is wonderful. Breakfasts are great.

The decor in the rooms is tasteful and elegant, and the linens are wonderful. The views over the lagoon (it's worth choosing a lagoon-facing room) are beautiful, and the sunsets while we were there were spectacular. You can get lots of help with directions, and booking of tours from the hotel staff.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Excellent location, beautiful rooms and views, great food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Elegant beach house feel; warm, charming and intimate. You can walk out of the guest house straight to the water's edge and take a canoe on the lagoon or a bike ride around the island but still be within 5 minutes drive to the little village's shops and restaurants. Really lovely.

  • Liked — The elegant but relaxed feel. I felt at home on holiday.
  • Disliked — You can't walk to restaurants or shops you have to drive.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cherilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
800 reviews
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.4 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
363 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Isle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Isle Lodge

Property: Leisure Isle Lodge
Address: 87 Bayswater Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leisure Isle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the picturesque tranquil Bollard Bay on Leisure Isle,this luxury retreat offers sophisticated style and exceptional comfort. Spacious,individually decorated,suites,luxurious touches,soft,fine,linen quietly whispering romance.Delicious breakfasts served on the deck overlooking the lagoon. Enjoy exciting,contemporary cuisine,complemented with quality wines in the Top 100 awarded Restaurant Daniela's. Be pampered in The Skin Renewal Spa which specializes in Dermatological treatments. Guests' enjoy member privileges and Pezula & Simola golf courses. 2008 Winner AA Superior accommodation awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Leisure Isle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Isle Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing