We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous boutique hotel”
Review of Leisure Isle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leisure Isle Lodge
Ranked #20 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“gorgeous boutique hotel”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I highly recommend Leisure Isle Lodge. The venue, the service, the food were all fantastic. If it is peace you want, that is it. No shop, no café on Leisure Isle, but the most beautiful all-white spacious and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a sitting room overlooking the beach. Bliss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronique h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    49
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
150
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent a night to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Could not have selected a more relaxed accommodation.
Staff friendly, just made you feel at home.
The car wash was a bonus and just sitting around the pool was great.
Thanks to all the staff and I would recommend the Leisure Isle Lodge to all who is looking to have a relaxing time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prestoa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

What a beautiful place, with such attention to detail and quality. I loved the decor, which is modern and tasteful. Soft hues of blues, greys and whites compliment the beautiful views of the lagoon and one immediately feels relaxed. The staff are all so freindly and very professional in all aspects. We dined in the guest house restuarant and the food and service were both outstanding. All in all our one night stopover was a very special, memorable experience. Well done to Cher and her team!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1, which had a beautiful view of the lagoon and was light, open and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have recently returned from a 2 night stay at Leisure Isle and we would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for superior accommodation. From the moment we arrived to the moment that we left we were made to feel welcome & well looked after. Considering that the Lodge does not normally cater for small children, we were blown away at how accommodating Cher and her team were. They could not have made us and our babies feel more welcome or at home - family needs were taken care of, our children were supplied with a big beach bag full of toys and special meals were arranged - all to make us have the most positive of experiences! This was a very special stay for us & we are already looking forward to our next visit hoepfully sometime soon:) Thanks everyone!

Room Tip: This accommodation is a few metres from the beach/lagoon. Theer is so much to do in Kynsna area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Although the facade is not the prettiest on the waterfront, the inside and rear garden is beautiful and well maintained and full of surprises. The decor throughout is airy and light, evoking a feeling of calm and serenity.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a luxurious spacious suite overlooking the bay and were well taken care of by our hostess, Cher, who had a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding areas. She suggested excursions and places of interest for us to visit.
It was great to have drinks at the bar and meet with guests from all over the world.
The food served in Daniela's was so delicious that we didn't feel the need to venture into the town to eat. The oysters were so fresh and served so beautifully - a must for those who love shellfish.
The fact that there were bicycles available at the Lodge was a plus for us. It was an easy and safe ride around the lagoon and across the causeway. Kayaks were also available for use, free of charge.
We loved this place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarpered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vryheid, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Leisure Isle Lodge is one of the finest bed and breakfast establishments I have come across and I will recommend this beautiful lodge to anyone looking for comfort and style. The guest house is very elegant, all the rooms are beautifully decorated and the shortbread, fruit, fresh flowers and chocolate on your bed every evening, make your stay so much more special. Not to mention the hot water bottle, heated towel rails and underfloor heating on cold evenings!

The restaurant in the guest house serves great food and makes it very convenient if you dont feel like going out for meals. The phone in the room, good wifi internet reception, extensive collection of dvds, cycles and well stocked mini bar in each room are added bonusses.

There seems to be a vast amount of guest houses in Knysna, but it will be very difficult to beat this one, which comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but a lagoon facing room will be the obvious first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilsev348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nether Alderley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely B & B, super rooms with great views. Our room was really great with everything you could want. A little bit cold as the underfloor heating was near the bed only. Hot water bottles were put in our beds while we were dining - lovely. Staff were helpful with booking trips and the restaurant was good. Lovely outdoor pool but we didn't get warm weather due to the time of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
800 reviews
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.4 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
363 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Isle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Isle Lodge

Property: Leisure Isle Lodge
Address: 87 Bayswater Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leisure Isle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the picturesque tranquil Bollard Bay on Leisure Isle,this luxury retreat offers sophisticated style and exceptional comfort. Spacious,individually decorated,suites,luxurious touches,soft,fine,linen quietly whispering romance.Delicious breakfasts served on the deck overlooking the lagoon. Enjoy exciting,contemporary cuisine,complemented with quality wines in the Top 100 awarded Restaurant Daniela's. Be pampered in The Skin Renewal Spa which specializes in Dermatological treatments. Guests' enjoy member privileges and Pezula & Simola golf courses. 2008 Winner AA Superior accommodation awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Leisure Isle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Isle Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing