We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leisure Isle Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$295
$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$547
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Knysna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
193
51
16
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
51
16
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure islethe penthousegarden routeupgraded to a suiteboutique hotelfabulous locationpublic areaspool areaoverlooking the lagooncape townhot waterattention to detailevery morningguest houselovely roomwarm welcomeknysna heads
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 263 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is an award winning lodge and it really is a great lodge to stay. The lodge is right in front of the lagoon, The room opens to a view that is picture perfect. The staff are polite, helpful and sincere. The lodge has a great restaurant too. They have bicycles and canoes for your use free of charge too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrchidSpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you've saved enough on shady backpackers that you can now afford a place to feel comfy and home and pampered to recharge your batteries – this hotel needs to be your choice.
The two things this hotel has going for it are the design and the staff.
The design is very thought through and tasteful and implemented like a red thread through all areas and down to the smallest detail. European travelers might be reminded of a Greek island by the dominating white and tasteful antiques. It gives you that “holiday pure” feeling and it's so easy to feel home.
All staff we came across seemed born to work in hospitality. Anyone will stop at any given (or... created ;) ) opportunity to have a quick chat, give you tips about anything that might interest you and make you feel home. (Arriving late for diner in our hiking gear we were actually told to only get changed if it would make us feel better, but not to feel obliged to...)
The restaurant is very recommendable, though expensive and thus less value-for-money than the hotel. Breakfast is such a treat! You get to chose two courses... amazing.
The hotel will lend you kanus and bikes for free - just because.
The rooms are pure luxury. Complimentary brandy says it all, I think.
The flaws with respect to cleanliness are very minor - unfortunately the hotels sky-high achievements set the standards way higher than is fair to apply to a 3- or 4-star-priced house.

Summing up - no doubt the best place we’ve stayed on this holiday - and perhaps the best I've stayed ever. Wonderful!!!

Also, Kneysna is very worth it, lovely holiday village.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleFischerZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a very happy two night stay at this hotel, we certainly could have stayed longer. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to the penthouse. This gave us unobstructed views of the bay. The hotel is beautifully decorated. All of the staff are excellent, particularly Cher. The hotel has bicycles and kayaks for the use of the guests. This is a blessing because it gives the patrons of the hotel's wonderful restaurant a chance to push back some of the calories gained while dining there.

I certainly happily recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hexthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a beautiful ,tastefully furnished and luxurious place to stay and we only had one night there!We were given a lovely warm welcome ,and as it was our 40 th wedding anniversary they left a very welcome complimentary half bottle of champagne and fresh fruit in our room .Room 1 had stunning views of the Island.
Beautiful walks with amazing wild life. The dinner was good but unfortunately both my husband and I found our meals a bit too salty.The breakfast was superb .We thought cleaning our car before we left was a very thoughtful gesture.We would love to re visit this superb lodge!

Room Tip: Room 1 with stunning views!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsieR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Leisure Isle Lodge on two occasions – first with a group of friends (whereby we occupied and viewed most of the rooms) and shortly after with family – and we cannot but recommend this outstanding establishment which is run by a wonderful team. The rooms are large and inviting, the service is impeccable and the intimate restaurant a delight. Our friends were thrilled that it rained and we could just “stay at home“ and enjoy the amenities. The fresh oysters which we had ordered in advance were served in the bar where some of us cuddled around the cosy fireplace. After the delicious dinner, the friendly barman served coffee and grappa (the latter being difficult to obtain in most restaurants in South Africa).
All in all, a highly recommendable experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews