We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Leisure Isle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leisure Isle Lodge
Ranked #19 of 125 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a very happy two night stay at this hotel, we certainly could have stayed longer. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to the penthouse. This gave us unobstructed views of the bay. The hotel is beautifully decorated. All of the staff are excellent, particularly Cher. The hotel has bicycles and kayaks for the use of the guests. This is a blessing because it gives the patrons of the hotel's wonderful restaurant a chance to push back some of the calories gained while dining there.

I certainly happily recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hexthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    45
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
147
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a beautiful ,tastefully furnished and luxurious place to stay and we only had one night there!We were given a lovely warm welcome ,and as it was our 40 th wedding anniversary they left a very welcome complimentary half bottle of champagne and fresh fruit in our room .Room 1 had stunning views of the Island.
Beautiful walks with amazing wild life. The dinner was good but unfortunately both my husband and I found our meals a bit too salty.The breakfast was superb .We thought cleaning our car before we left was a very thoughtful gesture.We would love to re visit this superb lodge!

Room Tip: Room 1 with stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsieR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Leisure Isle Lodge on two occasions – first with a group of friends (whereby we occupied and viewed most of the rooms) and shortly after with family – and we cannot but recommend this outstanding establishment which is run by a wonderful team. The rooms are large and inviting, the service is impeccable and the intimate restaurant a delight. Our friends were thrilled that it rained and we could just “stay at home“ and enjoy the amenities. The fresh oysters which we had ordered in advance were served in the bar where some of us cuddled around the cosy fireplace. After the delicious dinner, the friendly barman served coffee and grappa (the latter being difficult to obtain in most restaurants in South Africa).
All in all, a highly recommendable experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This wonderful hotel had been recommended to me a long time before we actually booked a trip to South Africa.

We had a 3 night stay here and on arrival we were welcomed by the lovely, helpful Linda, who much to our delight advised us that we had been upgraded. We were on the top floor and the room was wonderfully large, relaxing and very tastefully decorated with terrific views over the lagoon. I savoured the port that had awaited our arrival in the room! The hot water bottles placed in the bed during the turn down service was a nice touch.

The breakfasts were very good - I do so enjoy smoked salmon and scrambled eggs! There is a very good selection of hot breakfasts in addition to the cold buffet supplied.

We had dinner on 2 of our 3 nights and had wonderful meals. The weather on one of those evenings was too horrible to go out for dinner elsewhere but that didn't matter as we knew that the food was good and the dining room warm. I would certainly recommend you try the food here. The speciality Chocolate Fondant dessert was to die for!

Cher was wonderfully friendly and helpful and gave us some very good tips. Her Birds of Eden suggestion was fantastic - what a place to visit. And the advice to consider dining at Scirocco was a good one. They even come to pick you up for dinner and then take you back afterwards

We had leisurely strolls around the isle, a trip to the Heads, a visit to Birds of Eden, downtown coffee shops and just generally had a very relaxing time having come from our 3 night safari with early starts.

I have no hesitation in recommending this lodge and would love to visit again. Thanks again to Cher, Linda and the rest of the team for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: upstairs lagoon view suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our travel agent in Cape Town strongly recommended staying at this small lodge on the water in Knysna. She was right on the mark. The Lodge was more than comfortable with good service and large breakfasts. The views from our room were outstanding and the area of the hotel was perfect for long walks. We ate dinner at the hotel one night and had a wonderful meal, including fresh Knysna oysters. I'd definitely recommend eating there at least one night.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the panoramic suite upstairs. Well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prhnjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I've just spent a long weekend at Leisure Isle Lodge, and it lived up to all our expectations and more! Wonderful staff, a beautiful calm setting, incredible views of the lagoon if you can get a suite, and excellent food! A lovely surprise was being upgraded when we arrived! Take a bike and cycle around this beautiful island - a little slice of heaven!

Room Tip: Get a lagoon facing suite upstairs if you can - lovely huge rooms with panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra_Ritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

very nice location and a very good guest house/boutique. The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. Staff were helpful and friendly. very quiet when we were there (first night we were the only guests). bathroom could do with some work. it looked a little tired.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
The Knysna Belle
The Knysna Belle
#32 of 125 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#7 of 125 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
African Breeze Guesthouse Leisure Isle Knysna
1.4 mi away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bollard Bay House
Bollard Bay House
#43 of 125 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Isle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Isle Lodge

Property: Leisure Isle Lodge
Address: 87 Bayswater Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leisure Isle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the picturesque tranquil Bollard Bay on Leisure Isle,this luxury retreat offers sophisticated style and exceptional comfort. Spacious,individually decorated,suites,luxurious touches,soft,fine,linen quietly whispering romance.Delicious breakfasts served on the deck overlooking the lagoon. Enjoy exciting,contemporary cuisine,complemented with quality wines in the Top 100 awarded Restaurant Daniela's. Be pampered in The Skin Renewal Spa which specializes in Dermatological treatments. Guests' enjoy member privileges and Pezula & Simola golf courses. 2008 Winner AA Superior accommodation awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leisure Isle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Isle Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing