We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Leisure Isle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leisure Isle Lodge
Ranked #22 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I have never been so well looked after in a small hotel in my life! Everything was perfect -we even had sunbeds and chilled wine delivered to the beach. Nothing was too much trouble for Cher and Carl (and their team). The rooms are well appointed and wee touches like offering an international adaptor made life so easy and relaxed. I cannot fault this idyllic place - it was just perfect for chilling out and relaxing. Staff were knowledgeable about the local area and helpful beyond belief. Go, you'll love it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleLed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    45
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
147
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at the Lodge (lagoon facing room) and had a wonderful time. The Lodge, the service and support as well as the food were outstanding and we enjoyed every minute at this place. We will definitely come again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187323Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The lodge is fantastic and Cher and Carl, the managers super friendly. They gave us great tips for sight seeing. Rooms are spacious, clean, modern and nicely decorated.

But the best: the food was amazing. In general the food is really good in SA, but this one here was the best. Make sure you stay in for dinner!.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttammann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2011

My wife and I have just spent 3 weeks in South Africa, on the last week we stayed at Leisure Isle Lodge in Knysna on the Garden Route. It is a guest house/small hotel. I could not recommend it highly enough quiet & relaxing, the rooms are well serviced and clean. The food in the restaurant is of top quality with fine dining presentation at very resonable prices. The staff cannot do enough for you with nothing being too much trouble. Having absolutely no prior knowledge of the hotel our expectations were exceded. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazzas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeisureIsleLodge, Front Office Manager at Leisure Isle Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thank you for your review,we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Greetings from sunny Knysna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We found the Lodge as walk-ins since the hotel we'd originally booked wasn't what we were looking for and at the Leisure Isle Lodge we were given two beautiful rooms.

We received a very warm welcome, especially from Carl, the manager and felt immediately at home. The whole atmosfere of the Leisure Isle Lodge is like being at a friend's place and could not be more cosy and familiar.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful catering even for special needs.

The most outstanding service we received was when we spontaneously asked for a typical South African Braai to celebrate the 40th birthday of one of us and Carl organised a unforgettable and delicious meal in one of the beautiful lounge areas, just for us.
And that on his day off!!!!!!!

We can higly reccomend the lodge to everyone who is looking for some relaxed holidays in a beautiful surrounding being looked after by a warm, experienced and extremely accomodating team.

Special thanks to Carl!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaW34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

This place is just great! We got there and had a complimentary upgrade to the suite, which was spacious and beautiful.
Service was great as was the food. The location is great, just a few footsteps into the lagoon. A small place with just a few rooms which makes it nice and cozy.
I popped The Question there - need I say more? The atmosphere was just spectacular!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwerty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babenhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We came to Leisure Isle Lodge by accident, the lodge recommended in our travel book was to high priced for the roomquality. We stopped at the lodge and asked for vacancy, Chris was very friendly, showing us the rooms available and made an almost unbeatable offer. The room was spacy, very nice decorated and facing the pool area. Chris had tips for us for dinner in town (but I think we should have tried the restaurant in house), breakfast was very good with a great variaty.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducky0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
The Knysna Belle
The Knysna Belle
#33 of 126 in Knysna
125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#8 of 126 in Knysna
517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
African Breeze Guesthouse Leisure Isle Knysna
1.4 mi away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Isle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Isle Lodge

Property: Leisure Isle Lodge
Address: 87 Bayswater Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leisure Isle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the picturesque tranquil Bollard Bay on Leisure Isle,this luxury retreat offers sophisticated style and exceptional comfort. Spacious,individually decorated,suites,luxurious touches,soft,fine,linen quietly whispering romance.Delicious breakfasts served on the deck overlooking the lagoon. Enjoy exciting,contemporary cuisine,complemented with quality wines in the Top 100 awarded Restaurant Daniela's. Be pampered in The Skin Renewal Spa which specializes in Dermatological treatments. Guests' enjoy member privileges and Pezula & Simola golf courses. 2008 Winner AA Superior accommodation awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Leisure Isle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Isle Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing