We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely Inn”
Review of Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wayside Inn
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely Inn”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Wayside Inn 3 nights as we were on our way to Bloukrans River Bridge for our bungee jump. The location is slightly hidden behind the main but it is very convenient as there are many shops and eating places near by.

We booked 3 rooms and they were all very nicely prepared. The housekeeper placed lavenders on the bed that made the rooms smell so great. there is also a small bay window in the room so you can do some read and enjoy a little sunshine during winter.

There is a small family lounge at the ground floor where you can watch a big screen tv or just a some reading by it. Morning breakfast is served at the little foyer by the main entrance. parking is very safe here as it is within the compound of the Inn.

2 weeks later after we returned home , my wife realised she left behind her jacket at the hotel room. We contacted Wayside inn and they were so kind to find us a inexpensive courier service to return the jacket from SA back to us in Singapore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur8998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
41
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

absolute gem ,walking distance to shops ,waterfront ,restaurants
very friendly,helpful staff
felt very welcome
clean rooms
quaint breakfast deck and safe parking for your car
good value
my favourite place in Knyna
will definately stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineK821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here more than 2 years ago and wasn't sure what to expect
I was pleasantly surprised!!
Received friendly welcome, checked in and shown to my room
It was lovely and sunny with door opening onto narrow balcony. It was lovely to feel the breeze coming through
Rooms are however basic but clean
The breakfast on the back porch which is either continental or english - delicious!!
Staff are very friendly and helpful
The location is good to be able to walk to shopping centre across the road and can stroll to waterfront
I would definitely recommend this b&b !!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This ideally positioned quaint Inn is a little hidden gem on the popular Garden Route.
It was quiet weekend in Knysna but I was warmly welcomed by the staff who placed me in a room backing on to a square. Albeit a little noisy late at night due to the proximity to a local pub, I had a good nights sleep to be awakened to a wonderful breakfast considering my budget price for my nights stay. Recommended to book here when next in this area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Glynis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The accommodation office found the Wayside Inn for us and we were absolutely happy with it. The owners could not have been more helpful, including offering us a lift to fetch our car which was parked just a few streets away!
Our room was fabulous with a dormer window from which we could just see boats on the lagoon. We were torn between relaxing on the gorgeous window seats or going out to explore the town! The room was charmingly furnished and well equipped.
We stayed for two nights and on the second a huge party arrived but we never heard a thing. We were told next day that Daniel the night man had stayed up all night to make sure our fellow guests didn't disturb us.
We found the accommodation very peaceful, even though there were a number of bars and restaurants in a square nearby.
The owners went to a lot of trouble with breakfast, offering both continental and full fried breakfast, which I'm sure many European visitors would appreciate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This establishment was introduced to me by Knysna Tourism and it has been a great find!
It does not have the views and the bibs and bobs that you get in the other more fancy establishments in Knysna but it is very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It suits me as a business person in the village as it has all I need and is centrally situated near a load of restaurants which makes it easy to walk to eateries on your door step. It is the ideal overnight stop for people travelling through the town - and also for those who are on budget constraints as it is great value for money!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hi Anneke & Jaco, myself & Desiré Delport , now Mrs Smith would like to thank you for an amazing "HONEYMOON" stay 05/02/2013 - 07/02/2013 , you definitely made it an unforgettable experience and you will definitely be hearing from us again in the very near future! Please pass on our thanks to Daniel and your staff and hope the wood hasn`t gone to waist..lol! :) Take care and God Bless.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
30 reviews
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
3.0 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yellowwood Lodge
Yellowwood Lodge
#24 of 30 in Knysna
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#17 of 30 in Knysna
232 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Property: Wayside Inn
Address: Pledge Square | 48 Main Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wayside Inn is an elegant Guest House nestled in the heart of Knysna which offers visitors quality accommodation and personal but discreet service. We are only meters away from variety of restaurants, shops, banks, supermarkets and a short walk to ferry departures and Knysna Quays Waterfront. We offer 24 hour management and ample secure parking. Wayside Inn centrally situated in Knysna the pearl of the Garden Route between Indian Ocean, Outeniqua Mountains and Knysna Lagoon which is home to the endangered Knysna Seahorse and many species of fish. All rooms have: • heating and ceiling fans/air conditioning • showers en-suite • Tea and coffee making facilities. • TV with SABC and 1 DSTV channel. A scrumptious buffet style breakfast - consisting of fresh fruit, yoghurt, home-made muesli, muffins, sweet pastries with cheese and preserves is served on our breakfast patio or if you prefer in your room through a secret panel in the door from 7.30am. We also offer bacon and eggs with toast and of course coffee, tea and fruit juice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing