We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phantastic! We would come back anytime!”
Review of Panorama Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Panorama Lodge
Ranked #15 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We experienced very friendly hosts, a familiar atmosphere in a very clea house on an amazing place with a great view.
The Guest house was easy to find, the signs and the map easy to spot.
We got a lot of informations what to do and to explore in the area, got help and hints from our hosts, when our tire was flat and we looked for service.
We enjoyed great breakfasts and felt always welcome! A great familiar place to stay and zo feel a bit like at home.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 204 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

Panorama lodge has an exceptionally welcoming and friendly feel – the hosts are excited to share with you their knowledge (and pride) of Knysna and the surrounding area and recommend activities/ hot spots to taste. We instantly felt part of the family and like nothing was too much trouble.
The lodge boasts gorgeous (panoramic!) views of the lagoons and is exceptionally peaceful. Rooms are uniquely decorated, comfortable and private.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CL_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Very friendly and comfortable stay and a good overnight stop on the way to Port Elizabeth from Fish Hoek nr Cape Town

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jones73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Well situated, close to town and all amenities. Tina went out of her way to advise us on all the attractions, providing us with directions and vouchers. The breakfasts were ample and scrumptious. The room was immaculate and the Lodge has a view out of this world. If ever we are in the fortunate position to visit Knysna again, we will look no further than to stay at Panorama Lodge!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moiratmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed at Panorama Lodge for two nights and were met with a warm welcome by Dieter our host. We were made to feel at home and honestly felt that we could use the communal indoor and outdoor areas as our own. The lodge has a large homely furnished lounge and outdoor table which takes in the panaramic view and we were free to wonder around at our leisure. Lots of reading material and tourist information was available to flick through and the place had a nice laid back feel.

Dieter was a great knowledgeable host and gave us lots of insider information on places to visit. All of his recommendations were spot on and we visited some beautiful beaches, woodlands and restaurants and even a billabong discount store all on his recommendations. He was also happy to chat and enjoy a drink with us and introduced us to the other guests -generally a likeable and amiable fellow.

Breakfast was a continental style self-serve breakfast which made a refreshing change to the traditional breakfasts we had elsewhere.

The only downside was our room (the bushman) which was very small and there was no air con or fan so it got very warm at night.

Knysna town is a little quirky but the surrounding environs are stunningly beautiful and it's definately worth a visit. if you've been paying Cape Town prices, the shops, restaurants and bars are reasonably priced but the town is bog-standard. Panarama Lodge is about a 10 minute drive from town and isn't really walkable because it's on a steep hill but you are not missing much from not staying in town and it's a great place to chill over a glass of wine and enjoy the magnificent view. Our fellow guest picked up a take-out curry which we thought was a great idea although the restaurants recoomended by Dieter were also excellent.

In conclusion, this is a great place to stay and a bit different from your average B&B - definately woth checking out.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puddin_lover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I was extremely impressed with not only the location but the hospitality that we recieved.
Dieter and Tina took great care of us and Dieter was very helpfull with his tips and reveiws on all of the to-see-and-do locations not only in Knysna but all around the area - highly recommended !!
PS:- And the breakfast was great !!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oesterreich2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed in Knysna as part of our family holiday with our 2 student children. We were en route from Cape Town to Addo and had planned to stay in a few locations along the Garden route but in the end stayed 5 nights at Panorama Lodge which we used as a base to visit Tsitsikamma, Plettenberg, Buffels Bay and Knysna itself. Dieter and Tina were very helpful providing excellent advice on places to visit and where to eat. They live upstairs with their daughter and leave the down stairs, including a spacious lounge and patio with wonderful views over the bay, to the guests. As the accomodation is up a steep hill from the town I would not think it is suitable for anyone without transport or wanting to be in easy walking distance from the main town.
By the way, for the experience of a lifetime do the worlds longest bungy jump at Bloukrans Tsitsikamma.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.1 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#11 of 127 in Knysna
253 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#16 of 127 in Knysna
329 reviews
3.9 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
651 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#21 of 127 in Knysna
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Lodge

Address: 14 Galjoen Street | Hunters Home / Fisher Haven, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $61 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panorama Lodge in Knysna, South Africa, is situated on top of a hill in a quiet area. There are panoramic views of the Knysna Lagoon and Heads and in the distance the Outeniqua Mountains. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere in our Guesthouse (Bed & Breakfast), in Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa, in the Heart of the Garden Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Panorama Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing