We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Panorama Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Panorama Lodge
Ranked #15 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boracay, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Perfect location high in the hills overlooking Knysna bay. As you will see by the photos, it has the perfect balcony for sitting out on and enjoying the fantastic views. The guesthouse itself is a really lovely place but what sets Panorama lodge apart is the friendliness and service from Dieter, Tina and their charming daughter Malina. When it comes to “five star” service from a guesthouse, I think there are two scenarios. 1. The owners go out of their way to go that little bit above and beyond because in the world of trip advisor, that’s just what you need to do these days to get yourself high up the rankings (still very much appreciated though). 2. That same service as above is just completely natural, it is given without a second thought and it is just the way it has always been, trip advisor or no trip advisor

Panorama Lodge falls most certainly into the second bracket. The family were so friendly and welcoming that we felt at home the minute we arrived. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig32a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    31
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
106
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Made a late decision to join our family in Knysna for a few days.

Decided to make our own booking and fortunately got into Panorama, the place is
lovely and rooms and beds good. This is important to members of the older generation.

The view is absolutely spectacular from the deck where breakfast is served in good weather.
The breakfast was very good.

Finally the host and hostess are there should you require anything but in the background
should you so wish.

Thanks for a lovely two days.



Br

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seussex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was our second stay, earlier stay was in Sept 2008 - we stayed for three nights this time. Beautiful house, very clean well appointed rooms. Breakfast was excellent, we asked for their recipe for scrambled eggs! But by far the best things is the warm welcome from Deiter and Tina - which extends throughout your stay. With our friends, who were also staying, we loved chatting with our hosts over pre-dinner drinks. Nothing is to much trouble, restaurants recommended, tables booked and experience checked afterwards. We turned to Deiter each morning to help plan our day. Made a game reservation booking for us many months in advance. Thanks Deiter and Tina, your hospitality is second to none. Best wishes from Lesley and Rod

Room Tip: Didn't see a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trundlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Fantastic location and very comfortable rooms!! But even better are the hosts who couldnt do enough for you!!! Her Papaya dnstrawberry milkshakes are something to to be desired!!!!
Thank you both!!
Navin & Vina

Room Tip: The downstairs room with self catering facility plus a little private balcony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Dieter and Tina have built a lovely well situated home away from the bustling Knysna centre. Their help, knowledge and suggestions on all aspects of our trip was excellent in every way.

We really felt at home and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwestcottpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We knew Panorama by means of a gentleman we met arriving to Knysna and that knew Dieter & Tina, the owners of the lodge. He recommended us to try for accomodation there and we do not regret. We were very well received by the owners who made our stay very enjoyable and warm. We stayed for 2 nights on our way to the east and had a good chance to know the area with Dieter's advise.
Rates are reasonable for the accomodations and the area and view very nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinDurruty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Made so welcome by Dieter and Tina who sit down with each guest with a map, ensuring you make the most of what Knysna has to offer. The house has lovely views, very clean, spacious bedroom with good ensuite shower room. Breakfast is plentiful, served on a huge table either on the verandah or inside in the large lounge/diner. These areas are also free for guests's use at other times. As well as a T.V. in the bedroom, there is a large T.V. in the lounge. Free internet. A car is essential, access is via a very steep driveway.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalieBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.1 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#13 of 126 in Knysna
241 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#12 of 126 in Knysna
395 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#14 of 126 in Knysna
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
643 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 126 in Knysna
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#22 of 126 in Knysna
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Lodge

Property: Panorama Lodge
Address: 14 Galjoen Street | Hunters Home / Fisher Haven, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panorama Lodge in Knysna, South Africa, is situated on top of a hill in a quiet area. There are panoramic views of the Knysna Lagoon and Heads and in the distance the Outeniqua Mountains. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere in our Guesthouse (Bed & Breakfast), in Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa, in the Heart of the Garden Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Panorama Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing