We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza and Potato Bake”
Review of Chatters Bistro

Chatters Bistro
Ranked #8 of 163 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Chatters is famous for thin-n-crispy, made-to-order pizzas, a great wine list and home-made desserts. Owner-run, with a casual feel and friendly service style. Outside garden area for warm summer evenings and an inside area with a wood-burning stove, or an enclosed patio for the cooler winter evenings. Extensive wine list available (corkage not permitted and no license for take-away alcohol). Please book to avoid disappointment.
Lugano
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Potato Bake”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

A little gem in Knysna where the whole family enjoy going. Great choice of pizzas or you can construct your own. It's not the cheapest place in Knysna but the few extra Rand are well worth it for the quality, friendly service and atmosphere.

My favourite dish, and excellent value, is the blue cheese and bacon potato bake. Delicious!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuganoPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    173
    36
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere & delicious food”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We chose Chatters because it was a little way out of the main tourist area. We sat outside, received a friendly welcome and had a lovely meal, the pizza was fresh and delicious, as was the salad we had with it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miss_muriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious pizzas, relaxed ambiente”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I love this little gem in Grey Street Knysna - unpretentious, good value for money, very friendly staff and owners, good service and wonderful on a mild night to sit outdoors.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angie044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Ambience, Excellent Service”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The christmassy feeling that you get when you enter the place with little things like offering a stole/blanket type thing to keep us warm to being really informative about food in general (Pizzas and wine in particular). It was a fantastic experience. For some reason the owners of the place didn't really come to our table and ask us about our experience , which was kinda disappointing coz they had gone to every table surrounding us and the fact that we wanted to tell them how much we liked the place. But it was kinda made up by the energetic and bubbly girl who took our order. I don't remember her name and I'm not supposed to remember her either (I was on my honeymoon .. I should have eyes only for my wife :P). She made several trips to and fro figuring out exactly what would make the already fantastic night awesome...

The food was nice, the candle lit table along with the broader ambience of the place was nice, the pretty girl taking our order was nice. It was a perfect evening for us.

Btw if there are any vegetarians reading this .. There were quite a few options for vegetarians as well which was kinda the icing on the cake!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rishabh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice pizzas”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Pretty nice pizzas and an overall nice environment. Perhaps a little too much emphasis on the wine list over the actual food menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatters Bistro also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Chatters Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing