We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeps getting better”
Review of Chatters Bistro

Chatters Bistro
Ranked #8 of 161 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chatters is famous for thin-n-crispy, made-to-order pizzas, a great wine list and home-made desserts. Owner-run, with a casual feel and friendly service style. Outside garden area for warm summer evenings and an inside area with a wood-burning stove, or an enclosed patio for the cooler winter evenings. Extensive wine list available (corkage not permitted and no license for take-away alcohol). Please book to avoid disappointment.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Keeps getting better”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Back to our favourite part of the world, and back to our favourite places to eat out- this time at a different time of year.

What a fabulous atmosphere, hot evenings sitting outside, lights twinkling, the garden area looks fabulous- better than I remembered. Really like the smoking are being separated now too. Some real work has been done since we were here last August- new bathrooms are a great addition.

We found this place a few years back and we loved it then. The food is brilliant - tastiest pizzas I've ever had, and the pasta Diablo dish- wow! The wine list is astounding- as a real wine novice it is great to find people with the time and interest and patience to help me choose something I like.- and Clare the owner really makes sure you're happy with your whole experience, I wish more owners were like her!

There are a lot of great places in knysna that we've found over the last couple of years of visiting it Chatters is still top of our list. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laura h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    173
    36
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very impressed.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I dined here 4 years ago. What a change! So many improvements have been made to the decor and garden that we were quite shocked. It is unusual to see such changes unless a change of management has occurred. It also seems to be appreciated by the locals because the place was clearly packed with them when we ate there. The thin type of pizza must be what they enjoy, rather than the thick dpughy type. At first glance, the food prices seem a lot more than at other establishments but when the meal arrives, one can see why; the toppings are very fresh and generous. The wine list is extensive and, recognising many of the brands, I can say that they are certainly not marked up excessively. You may pay a little more for the food but you will save on the booze! I noted that Chatters received platinum awards in both 2011 and 2012 for lists. Well done! Service was very efficient. Clare, the owner, and her husband Robert were very friendly and we could watch how well the restaurant was being managed, even when busy. When the sun goes down, the atmosphere here is magical.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainSlowEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Al fresco ambience just outside waterfront”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A very pleasant restaurant with a lot of outside tables and friendly efficient service. In late November (after a very cool day for the season) it was quite comfortable to sit outside, but since I didn't see any patio heaters this might not be the case in cooler months.

The best thing about this restaurant, and very surprising for a pizza/pasta place, is the very extensive wine list - 11 pages of it..!!

The ambience was good but the food itself was average. After sharing a generous helping of linguine with "gorgonzola", peppadews, etc., we tried their pizza. They offer 3 standards of pizza - normal, speciality, and gourmet. We had a small (24 cm) 'Ultimato" which, since it contained "prosciutto", was the most expensive combination at R92. Those who have travelled widely in Europe should take the gushing "best pizza ever" reviews with a pinch of salt. Much as I love South Africa, and even many SA pizza restaurants (but for their ambience), almost none know how to make a good pizza base which should have luscious puffy edges not the thin bland and crispy (often burnt) crusts typically served up.

Ok, having made my pizza point, I would still recommend this establishment for the location, the ambience, the service, and most of all the wine list..!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spesbona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Pizzas looked good, we all had pasta dishes with varying comments. Bolognaise sauce was plentiful but lacking in flavour, lasagne had only one sheet of pasta over the sauce !
Obviously popular with the locals as it was full all evening

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kitnsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the good life”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

As locals, we mostly re-visit this lunch/dinner spot on special occasions. The gluten-free pizza and wine dinner came in at quite a hefty price, but somehow we always have the greatest time here. The service is fast and friendly and you get the feeling they know what they're doing in the kitchen! Even thought Chatters is a short walk away from the touristic waterfront, we easily recommend this upmarket pizza spot to friends and guests. They offer a good selection of pizza and local wine, and on a good night, the garden setting offers you a magical atmosphere...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank treeCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatters Bistro also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Chatters Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing