We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Location”
Review of The Harbour Rock

The Harbour Rock
Ranked #11 of 113 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Sushi, African, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unique Location”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Amazing view on the bay, great place to see the whales in season. Although our visit was in the end of October we still saw whales from here. Very friendly waiters, nice atmosphere. We went here for diner and next day for lunch. Thai food is very good, fishplatter not so well prepared. Fish was more cooked than grilled. Nice selection of wines. Would recommend the place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ellysuverein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    391
    123
    50
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great location”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Lonely Planet recommendation was spot on. Nothing to dislike about this place from the menu, the way the waiting staff explain the menu and the quality of the food and wine

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location, good food and outstanding service”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Really enjoyed our lunch here, right by the water. The food was excellent but what I most remember was the charm of our waitress, who at the same time was very professional. I agree with other reviews that the menus are slightly confusing, however. Seeing several whales just off Hermanus afterwards was the icing on the cake.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xxdfarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food & staff!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

For the money, this is one of the best in town. Mixed oriental starter to start, seafood platter and Angry Duck mains, Pecan brownie to share to finish AND a bottle of Haut Cabrieres for under £50 total (equivalent)!! Outstanding

Helpful?
Thank jmpfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We went to the Harbour Rock for dinner and the restaurant was half empty, yet we were sat some distance from any other diners. The menu was a little confused for a fish restaurant as they also had a Thai menu. The waitress that served us was delightful and really helpful but overall I felt it was all a little disappointing, the food was nothing special and the atmosphere non existant, plus I found it a little chilly. It was completely dark so no whales to be seen, perhaps it is better during the day

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Rock also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to The Harbour Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing