We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food”
Review of The Harbour Rock

The Harbour Rock
Ranked #11 of 112 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Sushi, African, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Went here in May this year and must say the food was just delicious. The only down side was that the staff were not very attentive and one of them upset our friends ....... I was blown away with the Thai meal I had and the deserts were to die for. Would definitely visit again but this time during the day to make the most of the amazing views.... Lovely place.....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Essexdeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    400
    124
    50
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The food was great, the server was good, but it took a long time for the food to get to the table. Wish we could have been there during the day, not after dark - the view is outstanding!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food with a fantastic view”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great menus, great service, and a view like none other. What more could you ask for!? We came here for dinner and were so smitten that we came back for lunch the next day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank krichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Stunning view & good food”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I last visited in October 2 years ago, and had an excellent meal. I was not sure whether it would be as good this time but was not disappointed. There are very few restaurants with a view of the sea like this. The windows look right onto the rocks and surf and we watched the whales frolicking while we ate! There is a huge menu with lots of variety in terms of food and prices so it was quite difficult to choose. We eventually decided on dorado fish which was excellent. Rudi, our waiter, was very attentive and very helpful with his suggestions. We were so impressed we came back the next night to sample their Thai curry. Both our choices were very good and quite different in flavor. We were welcomed by Rudi like long lost friends! It was every bit as good as our previous visits and I would definitely visit again when we next come to Hermanus. (They also serve sushi and the table next to us were raving about it!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“From great to Thai.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This used to be a great Surf and Turf eatery.
We always ate there when in Hermanus, who knows why it has now been changed to a very average Thai restaurant?
The starters were edible nothing great but the mains very disappointing.
Sorry to say I will have to find a new local when visiting Hermanus again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyangelcapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Rock also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to The Harbour Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing