We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good food and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Harbour Rock

The Harbour Rock
Ranked #13 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and great food”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Over the years my husband and I have eaten here on several occasions and have always enjoyed the food. There is a wide choice ranging from traditional Thai dishes, sushi to fish and lamb shanks. Again we enjoyed our food very much while looking at the fantastic sea views. The service was excellent and personal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    381
    120
    48
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for dinner”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The location is absolutely perfect. Beautiful scenery! The staff are really friendly. The food was lovely, especially the sushi. The duck was amazing as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntelier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice meal in with friendly service”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a good meal with delicious fish and seafood. Our Service was very friendly and we enjoyed the evening in this Restaurant. The view is beautiful and you can smell the sea.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
252 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Biggest Sushi ever...”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Shushi Cheff is from China and I guess he has some issues with his eyesight because else I cant explain how he can cut such huge pieces! These were the biggest Sushi pieces I ever had and absolutely fresh. As a starter I tatest the vegetarian Tom Yum soup and it was delicious. I travellend to lots of places in Asia, but what the Chef prepared here was some of the best I have ever tasted.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing View - Pretty Good Restaurant!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It is necessary to express how ideal the location and setting of this restaurant is beforehand, as this alone makes for the beginnings of a very pleasant and enjoyable meal. The Harbour Rock is located on the face of a slight cliff/outcropping in the rock framing a quiet and picturesque dock of Hermanus, and the beach-side, boat-filled, scenic view sets a calm and inviting atmosphere. The interior design of the restaurant is open-planned with wooden floorboards and wide windows, creating a spacious and homely atmosphere. In addition to the comfortable indoor seating, you can also sit outside and dine on the restaurant's deck, which is just as - if not more so - enjoyable.
The service at The Harbour Rock is quite reasonable, with friendly staff. Although at noon on weekends, the restaurant gets to be very busy - especially during the summer, around Christmas time - and you have to wait rather long to receive your food.
The food is, however (and thankfully), worth the wait, and I would definitely recommend taking a look at their Thai menu, the seafood specials (like the hake, which was good), the fillet steak, and the roasted duck. The Harbour Dock is a nice place to come to for an idealistic and pleasant lunch out with the family, a group of friends, or as a romantic couple, and offers exceptional food in a lovely, little town with great views and a cosy atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Rock also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to The Harbour Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing