We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hermanus at its best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbour Rock

The Harbour Rock
Ranked #13 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hermanus at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place is a must visit when driving through Hermanus! The food is absolutely amazing with a good mix between awesome seafood, fresh sushi and sassy thai food. The waiters are also very delightful and the view off the harbour just speaks for itself! Loved it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    377
    116
    46
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salies-de-Bearn, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Three restaurants one location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This restaurant has besides traditional cuisine, also thai end japanese food, everything tasty and fresh

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kittydebruin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Do not miss the best sushi in Hermanus/South Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Harbor Rock is absolutely devine, from the small details (lovely hand lotion in the bathrooms) to the most important detail - the food! Service is always excellent, tables are always set impeccably well, and make sure to reserve a table overlooking the harbor - tables get booked out FAST! A must eat in Hermanus!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MJewell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arrogance at Harbour Rock”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Expecting VIP international investors to Hermanus, we decided to travel from Cape Town & do a recce a month before, assessing various restaurants in the area. Because of road works in Hemel & Valley and weather concerns for open air restaurants, we finally decided on Harbour Rock, after having quite a reasonable mid-week lunch there. Our planned visit with the visitors were entirely dependant upon one condition, getting the table of our choice & we booked accordingly (with request marked "not to be moved"): the first booking for Saturday 9 March lunch.

Lo & behold! Got there on Saturday, "our" table taken & us puhed into totally different grubby area. (whispered into our ear that the owner commanded "our" table),no word of apology and to crown it all (perhaps we were then a bit prejudiced): the dishes were so very average, service sort of ok and generally speaking not the type of place we will return to. A huge disappointment.
David

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david_b312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etiolles, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food and great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

2 nd trip to Hermanus and second time eating at the Harbour rock
We reserved a little late so didnt get the best table with view but they did their best. The place was packed and service was a bit slow in the beginning. Took some time to place our order.
Once the meal was under way everything went smoothly.
We shared a very generous serving of sashimi and my wife enjoyed her seafood platter as I my kingfish.
Reserrvation recommended

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GEORGEDORLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Rock also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to The Harbour Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing