We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend!!”
Review of Villa Blu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Blu
Ranked #19 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Campinas, SP
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recommend!!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Thanks for a wonderful time! Amazing room and incredible breakfast!! A little trip from the town center but if you have a car then you're set! They let us check in early and enjoy the Hermanus Whale Festival. We got the front room with garden access / view; full bathtub and shower; mini-fridge FULLY STOCKED!; cable tv and necessary closet space. The unfortunate weather didn't allow us to use the pool that looked very inviting! Very friendly staff. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babilim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    64
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
60
195
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Iburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Thanks a lot for the great stay in wonderful rooms with a superb breakfast. It is a short walk down to the beach where you can see whales from the shore. I will definitely come back and stay at the Villa Blu again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The place was very relaxing. Beautiful, clean bedroom with great views of the upstairs rooms. The upstairs deck was very relaxing and we could see the whales playing in the bay. The place wouldn't be the same without out hostess Liz. She makes the place very warm and welcoming... The welcome parcel of cheese and bubbly made us feel very welcome.
And the fresh flowers in the rooms and sitting area was lovely.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paimaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent two very relaxing nights at Villa Blu in September 2012. Beautiful bedrooms with great attention to detail not to mention the amazing views - we were lucky enough to see whales playing in the bay from the balcony! Breakfast were delicious with a huge choice of cooked specialities. Loved the fruit ' starters' of freshly prepared fruits beautifully presented. Service was discreet and professional. The welcome was amazing and everyone was extremely attentive.
Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ocean facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homerun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

the personal touch was lacking; it was a cold day and the place was cold throughout. We miscommunicated on breakfast. But the meal was superb - way too much. The first place where we had breakfast dessert! Yumm! Accommodation was fine; a bit chilly in the rooms. But, we saw whales from the upper family room.

Room Tip: Again, all the rooms were great. It was just cold and lousy wet weather and that affected our stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Had a very good couple of nights here in March 2012.
Lovely villa - great view of the bay, Walker Bay, from balcony and near to an excellent beach (with good restaurant). Warm welcome, comfortable rooms, very airy and bright, nice pool and great breakfast.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms come with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartiGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I would just like to thank Tino and Riana for making my stay at Villa Blu an unforgettable one!
I travelled to Hermanus recently for a brief vacation with my husband, and it completely rejuvenated both of us. The coastal setting was marvellous - there are no words to describe how amazing it was to wake up to beautiful ocean views every morning, and then be treated to a delicious breakfast and spend the rest of the day exploring the small town and just relaxing.
Villa Blu is a phenomenally beautiful and tranquil Hermanus guest house, and I will definitely be staying here again when the whale season starts in July!

Room Tip: The ground floor room has a private patio and looks out onto the pool and garden - perfect if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviahanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
921 reviews
5.8 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blu

Property: Villa Blu
Address: 234 8th Street | P.O. Box 86, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing