We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian food in SA”

Rossi's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 112 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Rossi's is a reasonably priced, family restaurant with a lively, friendly atmosphere, excellent food, great service and outstanding value.Meals are prepared in full view and cooked in traditional wood burning pizza ovens. Specialities include amazing thin based pizzas, pastas, unique wood-fired oven baked line fish and seafood. Rossi's steaks and ribs are also legendary in Hermanus.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food in SA”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a super restaurant in the centre of this lovely coastal town. It has recently been refurbished to give a modern and inviting atmosphere and is very comfortable for dining inside or on the terrace.
Rossi's is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and their menu is varied and very reasonably priced.
We had breakfast on a few occasions and also a number of dinners and found the service, food and ambiance lovely. Everyone likes Italian food but they do super salads and a good steak if preferred.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    112
    36
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great variations”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had a wonderful meal with great service one night so booked for a couple of nights later. It was a total disaster. One hour after we arrived and 50 mins after placing the order the starters came. Then 35 mins later the main course, both of which were inedible. The 4 cheese pasta was hopeless and the steak totally uncooked-ughhh.
We weren't the only table to have problems. The people next to us were waiting even longer.
The manager knocked 30% off the bill but to be honest the total charge should have been waived.
Although the [self proclaimed] oldest restaurant in Hermanus, think they are going through a renaissance. Hope they get their act together quickly because when it's good it's very good.
My ratings below are for the bad night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StanNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible restaurant. Terrible food !”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

very bad quality food. It is not a place you want to spend your evening in. We were very disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Achim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pizzas and coffee”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

After a day of shark diving, the patio at Rossi's is the perfect antidote for recovery! The pizza here is really fantastic thin crust and fresh ingredients. I highly recommend the Rossi's Bread for an appetizer as well as the fresh and delectable calamari. It's a great stop for lunch. The coffee bar inside produced a very unexpected and pleasant cappuccino to make the lunch really charming. Reasonable charges, but the lady waitress attending us was really the best service we have received throughout South Africa; very attentive, friendly and knowledgeable, but not robotic.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LukeDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Only if you love Pizza ...”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

While this place buzzes most of the time, we can really only recommend it for pizza. The Pasta and Fish dishes we ordered were just awful, and none of the wines that we asked for (on the winelist!) were actually available. So we drank beer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FireZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rossi's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Rossi's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing