We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mosselberg On Grotto Beach
Ranked #27 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Luxurious rooms”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our room (Pinotage) was absolutely beautiful. A small balcony with a front facing sea view, restricted on one side by the suite in front. Huge comfy bed. Crisp linens and luxurious fabrics. Wonderful bathroom with gorgeous toiletries.
The rest of the property is similarly appointed with a good quality breakfast.
I would say the only downsides would be the property doesn't have much atmosphere as it is secluded and outside of the town; feels more like serviced apartments as there is no one around during the day and sometimes it was hard to get hold of someone if you needed something.
Having said that the service we did receive was of a high standard and friendly (Linda is a warm and helpful host and offered lots of advice). The added touches of a nightcap with the turndown service and champagne in my room for my birthday was wonderful.
If you are looking for luxurious yet relaxed accomodation in a quite area then this is a perfect choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcassidy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, General Manager at Mosselberg On Grotto Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for spending your time to write this review!

It was great welcoming you as our guests at AP Mosselberg on Grotto Beach..
Most of our Guests are out doing their exploring and activities in Hermanus and surrounding areas , then it can be quite at the property during the day.
Our staff is on duty at all times, therefore we do apologise if they seemed missing at some stage.
We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to Hermanus.
Kind regards

Linda van Blommestein
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    24
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
107
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a beautiful modern house. Huge rooms tastefully decorated. Very comfy. Massive bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful especially Wisdom who seemed to work all hours and was very willing to help with any request. Breakfast gorgeous, freshly cooked and well presented, excellent choice. Dinner by arrangement was almost gourmet , very nice young female chef, delicious food Well appointed for beach and stunning walks. Outside of town but cheap taxi ride or TukTuk so no problem shame pool wasn't heated but as it is early spring would probably be lovely to cool down in during summer months. Very highly recommended. The complimentary drink in the room each night was a nice surprise too . Games room, log fires it has everything for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: All rooms good with view of mountain or beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisandBarry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, General Manager at Mosselberg On Grotto Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your great review of AP Mosselberg on Grotto Beach!

We are delighted to know that all was good during your recent stay at our property.
It was good to have you as our guests and we hope to accommodate you on your next visit to Hermanus.
Kind Regards

Linda van Blommestein
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mosselberg Grotto African Pride hotel. The staff were pleasant enough and the view and venue really worthwhile.

The furnishing could do with a farnish so looks a little run down, the beds need replacing (very uncomfortable) and the breakfast service is a bit slow- . The rooms are beatifully decorated and large. Wonderful winter retreat and lovely runing alongside the beach and the milkwood forest. All in all we had a lovely stay, but as I said there are a few smaller things that should they be upgraded would make this an incredible stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pinotage room which was the smallest room apparently (still huge) and we had a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle_Parkinson_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Location:
- This hotel, is well located, and is right by the Grotto Beach (which is a supurb blue flag beach). It is somewhat removed from 'downtown' Hermanus though, which would require a car ride to get to, as it is on the outskirts of Hermanus.

Room:
- The room was very large and supurbly appointed. The room was really first class with an exceptional bathroom and room area.

Wifi:
- Wifi was free and not too bad in terms of speed and reliability.

Breakfast/Restaurant:
- The breakfast/supper area is very neat and well appointed and the personalised service is excellent.

General:
- The layout and appointments in the hotel are exceptional, but this is really more of a B&B than a hotel - just to help manage any expectations that you may have. There is a pool, snooker table, table tennis table and numerous board games available. The management and staff are really friendly and helpful, and the stay was an absolute pleasure!

Room Tip: We would most certainly recommend the upstairs room that has the sea facing view. The room that is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelPeteZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This small private hotel (guest house!) is an absolute gem. It is beautifully designed. Our room was very large and well equipped with a sumptuous bathroom. The communal areas are a delight with elegant and well designed features. As another reviewer has commented the pool needs to be heated!
It is a stones throw from a fabulous beach where my wife and I enjoyed a very enjoyable walk.
The service was faultless and breakfast excellent.
We had dinner by arrangement with a private chef arranged by the hotel which was very good indeed.
The hotel represents excellent value for money.
My one regret is that we were only booked in for one night!
We would return in an instant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AABUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, General Manager at Mosselberg On Grotto Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for placing your valuable view of our property on this site!
We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay at Mosselberg on Grotto Beach and hope to accommodate you in the near future.
It was great to have you as our guests!
Kind Regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Five star places to stay in SA are either ludicrously expensive (more expensive than Europe!!) or they are just not up to scratch. Fortunately this place falls into neither category. Expensive but worth it, well trained staff, great size rooms, lovely beds/linen, fabulous bathrooms and although small, nice communal areas. Actually couldn't find fault. The heating in our room was not working so we were provided with a heater and the first morning we were awoken by very noisy construction work so we were moved to another room. Well handled.

My only big suggestion is, like most places to stay in SA, if you have a pool, please heat it! Most of the year it is too cold to swim unless it is heated and this would have added to our daughter's pleasure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a similar size so you are only paying for the sea view if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FifiCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, General Manager at Mosselberg On Grotto Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on this site!
We want to apologize once again for the noise coming from the building site nearby, during your stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that the complimentary upgrade to another room did make your stay more enjoyable.
Attention will be given to the heating of our pool, for the comfort of your next visit to Mosselberg on Grotto beach.
Kind Regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were very fortunate to have spent 2 nights in this magnificent tranquil hotel with views both of the majestic mountains at the back and sea in front. Our luxurious huge room were extremely comfortable and had every convenience one could wish for. Coupled with the sumptious breakfasts and manageress Linda's and majordomo Wisdom's friendly and efficient attention, made our stay truly memorable.
A definite highlight was a walk through 'Piet se Bos' to the beautiful pristine blue flag Grotto beach that stretches for kilometres along the Atlantic ocean.
Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomtrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
3.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.4 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
6.5 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
Kennedys Beach Villa
#6 of 86 in Hermanus
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosselberg On Grotto Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosselberg On Grotto Beach

Property: Mosselberg On Grotto Beach
Address: 253A 10th Street, Voelklip | Western Cape, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mosselberg On Grotto Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosselberg on Grotto Beach is a luxurious 5 star Boutique Villa with spectacular views of the majestic Mosselberg mountains and the Blue Flag Grotto Beach in Hermanus. From June to November you can see the Southern Right whales from your bedroom lounge! Designed by an award-winning architect, Mosselberg has a pool and a huge deck on the sea side. Each room has its own entrance, a sea-facing balcony and the option of king-size or 2 single beds. Bring the kids, there are sleeper couches available in some of the bedrooms. The rooms are luxuriously appointed with a minibar fridge, coffee kitchenette, safe, TV, under floor heating, fans, and full en-suite bathrooms with twin basins and heated towel rails. Wake up to our world class, superb continental and English breakfasts, which are served on the deck or on the veranda around the pool. If outdoor adventure is on the cards; there is access to a mountain bike trail, fantastic walks and scenic hikes on the beach, in the Fernkloof Nature Reserve or along the cliff path. Mosselberg is also conveniently located 4.5km from the Hermanus Golf course and 24km from Arabella. With activities suited to all weather conditions, choose from a relaxing swim in our pool, read a book in the lounge or play a game of pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Mosselberg On Grotto Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosselberg On Grotto Beach Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing