We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it but missing the finer touches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mosselberg On Grotto Beach
Ranked #26 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mosselberg Grotto African Pride hotel. The staff were pleasant enough and the view and venue really worthwhile.

The furnishing could do with a farnish so looks a little run down, the beds need replacing (very uncomfortable) and the breakfast service is a bit slow- . The rooms are beatifully decorated and large. Wonderful winter retreat and lovely runing alongside the beach and the milkwood forest. All in all we had a lovely stay, but as I said there are a few smaller things that should they be upgraded would make this an incredible stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pinotage room which was the smallest room apparently (still huge) and we had a sea...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle_Parkinson_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Mosselberg On Grotto Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 162 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Location:
- This hotel, is well located, and is right by the Grotto Beach (which is a supurb blue flag beach). It is somewhat removed from 'downtown' Hermanus though, which would require a car ride to get to, as it is on the outskirts of Hermanus.

Room:
- The room was very large and supurbly appointed. The room was really first class with an exceptional bathroom and room area.

Wifi:
- Wifi was free and not too bad in terms of speed and reliability.

Breakfast/Restaurant:
- The breakfast/supper area is very neat and well appointed and the personalised service is excellent.

General:
- The layout and appointments in the hotel are exceptional, but this is really more of a B&B than a hotel - just to help manage any expectations that you may have. There is a pool, snooker table, table tennis table and numerous board games available. The management and staff are really friendly and helpful, and the stay was an absolute pleasure!

Room Tip: We would most certainly recommend the upstairs room that has the sea facing view. The room that is a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelPeteZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This small private hotel (guest house!) is an absolute gem. It is beautifully designed. Our room was very large and well equipped with a sumptuous bathroom. The communal areas are a delight with elegant and well designed features. As another reviewer has commented the pool needs to be heated!
It is a stones throw from a fabulous beach where my wife and I enjoyed a very enjoyable walk.
The service was faultless and breakfast excellent.
We had dinner by arrangement with a private chef arranged by the hotel which was very good indeed.
The hotel represents excellent value for money.
My one regret is that we were only booked in for one night!
We would return in an instant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AABUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, General Manager at Mosselberg On Grotto Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Guests
Thank you for placing your valuable view of our property on this site!
We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay at Mosselberg on Grotto Beach and hope to accommodate you in the near future.
It was great to have you as our guests!
Kind Regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Five star places to stay in SA are either ludicrously expensive (more expensive than Europe!!) or they are just not up to scratch. Fortunately this place falls into neither category. Expensive but worth it, well trained staff, great size rooms, lovely beds/linen, fabulous bathrooms and although small, nice communal areas. Actually couldn't find fault. The heating in our room was not working so we were provided with a heater and the first morning we were awoken by very noisy construction work so we were moved to another room. Well handled.

My only big suggestion is, like most places to stay in SA, if you have a pool, please heat it! Most of the year it is too cold to swim unless it is heated and this would have added to our daughter's pleasure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a similar size so you are only paying for the sea view if you want it.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FifiCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, General Manager at Mosselberg On Grotto Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on this site!
We want to apologize once again for the noise coming from the building site nearby, during your stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that the complimentary upgrade to another room did make your stay more enjoyable.
Attention will be given to the heating of our pool, for the comfort of your next visit to Mosselberg on Grotto beach.
Kind Regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were very fortunate to have spent 2 nights in this magnificent tranquil hotel with views both of the majestic mountains at the back and sea in front. Our luxurious huge room were extremely comfortable and had every convenience one could wish for. Coupled with the sumptious breakfasts and manageress Linda's and majordomo Wisdom's friendly and efficient attention, made our stay truly memorable.
A definite highlight was a walk through 'Piet se Bos' to the beautiful pristine blue flag Grotto beach that stretches for kilometres along the Atlantic ocean.
Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tomtrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Mosselberg guesthouse was a great surprise as the rooms are enormous and the property is just a short distance from Grotto Beach. Staff were helpful and their newly started chef did an excellent job in the evening if you required dinner. The 'best' room sits on top of the breakfast/restaurant and has panoramic views over the beach. The weather had broken over the 2 nights that we stayed but found the guest house really relaxing and lovely to mooch around or go for short walks on the beach.

Room Tip: The 'best' room sits on top of the breakfast/restaurant and has panoramic views over the bea...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IainF268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was my second visit to Mosselberg Guesthouse and I was once again suitably impressed by the beauty of the space, the location, the sublime views, the decor and the atmosphere of peace and serenity. My first impression was "wow look at that view!" So I believe the architects executed the vision perfectly. Great care was taken to consider the Fynbos which makes up the garden with a winding path down to Grotto beach, a second tick in my books. All the entertainment areas open up with huge sliding doors onto a large deck so one really has a feeling of being close to nature. The high ceilings add to the feeling of space, the uncluttered decor and the beautiful art is all very tasteful.

Of course there's always a downside, not serious but annoying, there's only one guest lavatory downstairs, so the 140 odd guests had to either queue up, use guest's bathrooms or fall off the deck and do it in a bush, unsavoury, I wondered wether this would pass health and safety laws abroad or how SA tourism graded the establishment? Second niggle: most ladies wore heels on the night, most heels got stuck between the deckings, not so great if you're mooching up to your beau and your leg got stuck in mid pirrouette, and then to add insult to injury, leaving our gorgeous stilletto's ruined. I overheard a guest (master builder by profession) comment on the lack of railings around the deck too, aesthetically pleasing, but not so safe or child friendly, Public liability springs to mind.

The management and staff were professional, friendly, well trained and discreet.

After all said and done I'd happily recommend this guesthouse any day of the week.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Burntoutactress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.7 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
412 reviews
3.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
6.5 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
1.7 mi away
Abalone Guest Lodge
Abalone Guest Lodge
#14 of 85 in Hermanus
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosselberg On Grotto Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosselberg On Grotto Beach

Address: 253A 10th Street, Voelklip | Western Cape, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $156 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mosselberg On Grotto Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosselberg on Grotto Beach is a luxurious 5 star Boutique Villa with spectacular views of the majestic Mosselberg mountains and the Blue Flag Grotto Beach in Hermanus. From June to November you can see the Southern Right whales from your bedroom lounge! Designed by an award-winning architect, Mosselberg has a pool and a huge deck on the sea side. Each room has its own entrance, a sea-facing balcony and the option of king-size or 2 single beds. Bring the kids, there are sleeper couches available in some of the bedrooms. The rooms are luxuriously appointed with a minibar fridge, coffee kitchenette, safe, TV, under floor heating, fans, and full en-suite bathrooms with twin basins and heated towel rails. Wake up to our world class, superb continental and English breakfasts, which are served on the deck or on the veranda around the pool. If outdoor adventure is on the cards; there is access to a mountain bike trail, fantastic walks and scenic hikes on the beach, in the Fernkloof Nature Reserve or along the cliff path. Mosselberg is also conveniently located 4.5km from the Hermanus Golf course and 24km from Arabella. With activities suited to all weather conditions, choose from a relaxing swim in our pool, read a book in the lounge or play a game of pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mosselberg On Grotto Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosselberg On Grotto Beach Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing