We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful intimate boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mosselberg On Grotto Beach
Ranked #27 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful intimate boutique hotel”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It's more like someone's house, than a hotel (in a good way). Downstairs everything is open plan and the views over the beach are stunning. Lovely different comfy sofa areas to sit and have drinks. We were pretty much the only ones there so we had the run of the place, as did our one year old, which was good because the sunbathing area and pool was quite small. The rooms were tastefully done and really spacious with a separate kitchen area and amazing free standing shower, double sink and huge bath in the bathroom. The only downside was that there is no air con but they said there was enough through breeze at night but we didn't want to keep the windows open due to mossies so it did get a little uncomfortable. Breakfasts were great and we had dinner twice and both times it was delicious and we could watch the chef at work in the open plan kitchen. There's not a huge amount to do in the immediate vicinity and its about a 10 min drive from central hermanus. However, it is a lovely intimate hotel and makes you feel like you are in your own home (only better!).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
105
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was a bit surprised at how far the property was from Hermanus, but after the first day it seemed fine and an easy drive. The views from our room (the Sugarbird) were wonderful - we enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the sea, and were lucky enough to see some whales quite close to shore. It is stylish and well equipped - a perfect summer location , though it would not be my choice for off-season.

Room Tip: The Whale suite or Sugarbird have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank valise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We recently spent two nights in Hermanus at Mosselberg on Grotto Beach. This was our first trip to South Africa. We are design conscious travellers who know what we like. Mosselberg was perfect. It is a small, with 5 rooms that feels like home (oh do I wish) The setting is great with fabulous views and access to grotto beach. The design is contemporary and centers around a courtyard pool. Our room was great with super views and a bathroom to die for. More importantly is the care of the staff, particularly Wisdom, a warm young man from Johannesburg we loved. This place flies under the radar below other accomodations that are known for service and style (i.e. Birkenhead House) We would not even had heard of Mosselberg had we not relied on the guidance and recommendations of our friends at Southern Destinations, Lise and Crisney. Thank you all for a great and memorable stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hipmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Make sure you book a room with a sea view. Whale watching from balcony and room is brilliant. Room is huge with seating area and enormous bathroom area. Staff friendly and helpful. Helped with booking for dinner in hermanus and local tuk tuk taxi. Breakfasts varied and high standard. Situated right by grotto beach which is wonderful and peaceful early summer. Great place for lunch by beach. Would stay here again if return to Hermanus.

Room Tip: Must get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was our 2nd destination on our 2week Itinary . This is a modern beautiful ,tastefully furnished 5 star guest house with stunning views of the sea and mountains.We stayed upstairs (which are quite steep) in the Olive Room with magnificent views of the mountains.Gorgeous breakfasts were served ,no evening meals but we went to Hermanus to sample the fine foods in a couple of restaurants. There are some fabulous beach walks nearby with of course the wonderful whales in the season.We didn't get offered the local desert wine before we went to bed,but would thoroughly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Olive Room,stunning views of the mountains but the stairs are quite steep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsieR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Cape region in South Africa is a great place to travel by road, and we went to Hermanus, whale watching capital of the world, to see the whales for the first time. We heard Hermanus was a bit too touristy, so we researched in Frommer Travel Guide and found Mosselberg on Grotto Beach.

This is a secluded 5 or 6 room, 5-star "guesthouse". We stayed there in late October 2012, and felt we were in a luxurious beach home. The views of the beach are impressive (from the oceanview rooms and the common areas). The house itself is very well designed and maintained. The rooms are very large, bright, clean and comfortable, and the floors are heated. The breakfast is one highlight, cooked in front of you at the enormous open kitchen, and you can savour it watching the whales. Turn down service is sharp, and they serve you a glass of local desert wine before you go to bed.

The service was very good, but management / host can be "missing", so research where to eat and whale tours on your own.

We already suggested this hotel to our Cape Town friends, and we will definitely suggest it to TripAdvisor users.

Room Tip: Ocean view Room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamilaJonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavere, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The (very spacious) rooms don't come cheap but if you can afford it, they're well worth their money. Situated at about a 100 or 200 meters from the sea, you have a magnificent sea view from most of the rooms and in the season (May-Nov) you can watch whales passing, playing, jumping all day long with the naked eye although binoculars give you an even more spectacular view on them. The Sugarbird (junior...) suite is not so junior and probably offers the best value for money. Great breakfast and very friendly staff.
The only downsides? Free but slow internet and the only thing Junior about everything may just be the beds if you're 190 or more. Oh, and there is no restaurant but that gives you an extra chance to find out about the restaurants in Hermanus. Still a 5/5 though !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
661 reviews
3.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.4 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
886 reviews
5.8 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Hermanus Beach Villa
Hermanus Beach Villa
#16 of 87 in Hermanus
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosselberg On Grotto Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosselberg On Grotto Beach

Property: Mosselberg On Grotto Beach
Address: 253A 10th Street, Voelklip | Western Cape, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mosselberg On Grotto Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosselberg on Grotto Beach is a luxurious 5 star Boutique Villa with spectacular views of the majestic Mosselberg mountains and the Blue Flag Grotto Beach in Hermanus. From June to November you can see the Southern Right whales from your bedroom lounge! Designed by an award-winning architect, Mosselberg has a pool and a huge deck on the sea side. Each room has its own entrance, a sea-facing balcony and the option of king-size or 2 single beds. Bring the kids, there are sleeper couches available in some of the bedrooms. The rooms are luxuriously appointed with a minibar fridge, coffee kitchenette, safe, TV, under floor heating, fans, and full en-suite bathrooms with twin basins and heated towel rails. Wake up to our world class, superb continental and English breakfasts, which are served on the deck or on the veranda around the pool. If outdoor adventure is on the cards; there is access to a mountain bike trail, fantastic walks and scenic hikes on the beach, in the Fernkloof Nature Reserve or along the cliff path. Mosselberg is also conveniently located 4.5km from the Hermanus Golf course and 24km from Arabella. With activities suited to all weather conditions, choose from a relaxing swim in our pool, read a book in the lounge or play a game of pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mosselberg On Grotto Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosselberg On Grotto Beach Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing