We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mosselberg On Grotto Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mosselberg On Grotto Beach
Ranked #30 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Mosselberg for three nights in the Sugarbird suite. The room was perfect, everything we could have asked for - large, spacious, and modern but still cozy with luxurious amenities. We had a beautiful unobstructed view of the ocean that we woke up to every morning. The hotel itself feels and looks like a large, modern, comfortable house with nice common areas to relax and take in the view. The pictures on the website really do not do it justice.

The breakfasts were simply fantastic: fresh, homemade, flavorful, and made to order. One morning there were fresh-baked croissants which were simply delicious, better than most croissants I've had in France! There really was nothing better than waking up to an amazing ocean view and lazily walking down to enjoy a delicious breakfast.

Be sure to make the short walk to the nearby beach. We were there in the winter during off-season, so we literally had the beach to ourselves. It was windy, deserted, and simply beautiful.

The only critique I have is that the wifi in the room and throughout the hotel was pretty much nonexistent - so don't stay here if you absolutely need the internet! Normally I am annoyed when places advertise wifi in the rooms but don't actually provide reliable internet, but I found the hotel so charming in every other way that it didn't bother me. I can't recommend this place highly enough, and would love to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMK490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
104
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Amazing location, with open plan layout and rooms that open out onto balconies with views over the beach. Dinner was amazing, with chef cooking in front of you, a 5* meal! Wish we could have stayed longer. Room and bathroom huge and well equipped.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColinOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

This really is a fantastic and very special place, it is beautifully designed with serious wow factor, the rooms are huge and very luxurious. We heard the sea at night, bliss and its a short stroll onto the glorious beach. This alone makes its great, what makes it amazing is the two ladies that run it, the food is excellent and the hospitality is like staying with old freinds. This is a really wonderful and intimate hotel with huge open spaces and a real pleasure to stay in. This was by far the best place we stayed in SA, a complete find and a true gem, thank you for a wondeful stay and making it so special :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank simon_beck75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

It's not often I've walked into a hotel room and said "Wow!" but I did here. We stayed in the Pinotage room. It's beautifully furnished, with an enormous and very comfortable bed. The bathroom had a walk-in shower, roomy bath and two basins. There was masses of storage space, a room safe and large TV. But the best thing was the sea view from the private balcony. Rina was particularly helpful and gave good recommendations for places to go and restaurants to eat at (try B's for great steaks). The breakfasts were delicious - yoghurt, fruit, cereals, croissants, choice of cooked items. While enjoying breakfast in the open air we were kept amused by a swallow flying back and forth to feed her young in a nest high up on the wall. If you are looking to stay in Hermanus, stay here!

Room Tip: All the rooms beautifully appointed but ask for one with a sea view, particularly the Southern Right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 134Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

A beautifully designed boutique guest house, made extra special by very warm hospitality and service. The rooms are spectacular with far reaching sea views and very luxurious.
The staff here are amazing, and always went the extra mile to make our stay memorable and special. The chef is EXCELLENT and the food is second to none. We will be back and a huge thank you to the two ladies that manage this beautiful place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the Olive suite and loved every minute of it. The rooms are huge and beautifully appointed. Very private and the service is exceptional. The three course dinner offered every night is a must. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

Mosselberg is a gem. From the unique architecture to the decor and the food, everything is exquisite. The managers, Linda and Rina are very attentive and have great attention to detail. They are both talented chefs who manage all the cooking from breakfast through dinner, I don't think you will find a better meal in Hermanus.

We only stayed two nights, but we would have loved to spend more time there and dream about going back one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fynbos suite. The decor is a nice blend between minimalist and rustic with a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pascale_cardozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
5.8 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hermanus Beach Villa
Hermanus Beach Villa
#17 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
3.5 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosselberg On Grotto Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosselberg On Grotto Beach

Property: Mosselberg On Grotto Beach
Address: 253A 10th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mosselberg On Grotto Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Mosselberg on Grotto Beach is a luxurious 5 star Country House with spectacular views of the majestic Mosselberg mountains and the Blue Flag Grotto Beach in Hermanus. From June to November you can see the Southern Right whales from your bedroom lounge! Designed by an award-winning architect, Mosselberg Country House has a pool and a huge deck on the sea side. Each room has its own entrance, a sea-facing balcony and the option of king-size or 2 single beds. Bring the kids, there are sleeper couches available in some of the bedrooms. The rooms are luxuriously appointed with a bar fridge, coffee kitchenette, safe, TV, under floor heating, fans, and full en-suite bathrooms with twin basins and heated towel rails. Wake up to our world class, superb continental and English breakfasts, which are served on the deck or on the veranda around the pool. If outdoor adventure is on the cards; there is access to a mountain bike trail, fantastic walks and scenic hikes on the beach, in the Fernkloof Nature Reserve or along the cliff path. Mosselberg is also conveniently located 4.5km from the Hermanus Golf course and 24km from Arabella. With activities suited to all weather conditions, choose from a relaxing swim in our pool, read a book in the lounge or play a game of pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mosselberg On Grotto Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosselberg On Grotto Beach Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing