We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does it get better than this?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mosselberg On Grotto Beach

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mosselberg On Grotto Beach
Ranked #29 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Does it get better than this?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

An exceptionally elegant villa looked after by an exceptionally elegant manageress.
Spacious, relaxing, tastefully furnished environment in a perfect location, close to one of the best, tranquil beaches in Hermanus.
A real must.
Five stars - no doubt.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ByeByeBlues7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
104
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed two weeks in February at Mosselberg and enjoyed every minute of it. There is now doubt and no hesitation to recommend Mosselberg to anyone seeking top service, excellent accommodation in an individual atmosphere.

The place offers an extraordinary combination of luxury, personal & individual attention, friendliness, relaxed atmosphere and excellent cuisine. The common areas of the guesthouse benefit from a stylish decoration that is enhanced by carefully selected and arranged flower bouquets (comprising many local fynbos flowers) every week. The dining area and lounge are cleverly designed so that whole sections of the walls can be opened or closed according to the weather. We had fine weather most of the time, the glass doors were open and a light sea wind was entertaining us a breakfast or dinner. On the one occasion we had rain the fire place was lit, the glass doors were closed and we were sitting snuggly in front of the fire and still enjoyed the view onto the sea and up the mountains in the back.

Our room (Southern Right) was huge to say the least. Whilst size matters in this honeymoon suite we also enjoyed a stunning view over the milkwood forest further down to Grotto Beach and the Klein river Lagoon. When I write stunning I actually mean stunning, wonderful and marvelous. Again the whole corner of the room are glass doors so you actually really get the best of this view. An again they can be opened and you enjoy the best of two worlds – outside and inside. At the same time you can look to the rear where the mountains turn read in the evening when they reflect the setting sun's light. The room further benefitted from a fire place (lit whenever we liked it), a large and stylish bathroom and a walk in wardrobe in which we almost got lost.

The guesthouse has a limited but superb restaurant service. Breakfast comes with fresh fruit, cooked breakfast as well as continental style of choices and little gems like gig chutney, fynbos honey or home made pesto. There is one set dinner per day. The quality of the dinner was the best we tried in all of Hermanus. In fact whilst we tried in our first week a few other places in Hermanus up to the supposedly best one in town we stayed in most of the time in our second week. Not only was the food quality superior to anything else in Hermanus but the chef actually chose the dishes to our likings. We liked fish; they made fish. We liked springbok; they made springbok. More personal attention is hardly possible. Additional the relaxed atmosphere in the semi-open dining area with mountain and sea view can hardly be topped. So we really recommend staying and eating there.

Other nice little gestures that made our staying pure bliss were a free servings of freshly baked cup cakes every day, home-made cookies on the room, digestives in crystal decanter served with turning-down, fresh fruit in the room, attentive and friendly staff, loads of magazines and newspapers as well as books on the surroundings.

We truly felt on cloud nine in this rather special place and will return in September 2012. May nothing change until than.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Till C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achterveld, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
141 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

A fantastic property (read all the other reviews here) with great food (it's like home cooking but better) and a superb location (overlooking Grotto Beach, we saw whales from the balcony of our room). It's not cheap but worth every penny. By far the best place we ever stayed at in South Africa!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PvLAchterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

spent ages surfing the web looking at guesthouses in Hermanus and eventually just booked one that looked nice but we had no idea what a treat was instore.
The house is just amazing and the photos on tripadvisor so far just don't do it justice.

We stayed for two nights and admittedly the houses wasnt fully booked at the time but it felt like had the place to ourselves.
We had one of the rooms that wasnt on the beachside of the house but it was huge.. so full of light.. whilst modern fresh and bright, it had that more relaxed seaside feel rather than overly tendy.

There is the potential to dine here in the evenings but I would say that unless you are there with kids which would then be a great option or a bigger group it is probably a little quite and you would want to get out and enjoy some of the local restaurants...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AIRMILES2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed in this hotel after being on a whale watching trip which wasn't very good, if only we had known what a fabulous location, views and bed rooms The Mosselberg had we wouldn't gone on the expensive boat trip. All the staff were very pleasant, helpful. and the breakfast was perfect. There was nothing you could fault at all - perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katy_dias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

Awesome. Architect designed. Huge funky rooms. Great beds. Quiet.

Quite expensive by SA standards, but not outrageous by UK standards.

Grotto Beach is the best place to stay in hermanus - most hotels/B&Bs are in town, which has no beach. Grotto Beach is blue flag and one the best beaches you'll truly ever find - esepcially if you like a walk/run on the beach! It is approx 3 clicks out of town but what does that matter.

Fabulous funky modern rooms. Smallish decking area for sunbathing with great views.

Service adequate although a little short staffed when we were then, but then again it is a B&B - although an extremely designer/plush B&B.

And plenty of whales to see from the hotel as it looks onto a protected cove where boats can't go.

We shall definitely go back if we are in SA again!

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamskiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed at Mosselberg on Grotto Beach from the 21st – 23rd August 2009. My party consisted of two adults and two children (aged 10 and 8 years).

Mosselberg on Grotto Beach is part of African Pride Hotels, which is associated with the Protea Hotel chain. Whilst African Pride is very much 5 star, Protea is rather more budget to mid-range. I am not convinced that they complement each other; however we did discover Mosselberg via the Protea website. As a Prokard member (Protea loyalty card) I received a discount on the Mosselberg room rate. The property was chosen because we wanted to ‘push the boat out’ during our last two nights in South Africa and children are welcome at this upmarket property.

Mosselberg was a little difficult to find as it is not signposted. We opted to drive down to Grotto Beach and were soon put right by locals; indeed it is located only a few hundred yards from the Stanford end of the Grotto Beach car park. My first impression of this property was of a Roman Villa constructed out of concrete. Over time the place really grew on me. From the first moment we arrived we were made most welcome and given a comprehensive tour of the facilities. We were the only guests during our stay and occupied the Southern Right (Honeymoon) Suite, which has the most marvellous view out over Walker Bay. In good weather we could see all the way out to Danger Point, where HMS Birkenhead foundered on the 26th February 1852. We had no problem identifying Southern Right whales swimming out in the bay.

Our accommodation at Mosselberg was simply luxurious and very extensive. The Southern Right suite is perfect for honeymooners. In our case the children slept on sleeper couches, whilst the adults had the king size bed. The children had the run of the complex and spent time in the games room downstairs or upstairs on our veranda looking for whales. We also had free WiFi, which worked best in the lounge downstairs. Our suite also had a log fire, which we kept burning late into the night. Sitting next to the fire with a glass of port (supplied free by Mosselberg) was just perfect.

The cooked breakfast at Mosselberg was made to order and was very good. There were also the usual continental offerings, such as cereal, bread, juice, fruit and cold meats. Evening meals have to be ordered in advance. On the first night it was recommended that we try Rossi’s Italian Restaurant, located in High Street, Hermanus. This is a rather busy pizza, pasta, meat type establishment, very popular with both locals and tourists. We liked it so much we returned the next night so never did experience dinner at Mosselberg. Perhaps if there had been other visitors at Mosselberg we would have eaten in, but we did not wish to put them to the trouble for just four of us. Anyway the children wanted Rossi’s for our last night in South Africa!

I would have no problem recommending Mosselberg on Grotto Beach. Staff were most helpful and showed great attention to detail. We remember the little things, such as the free port, chocolates on the pillows and two small teddies for the children.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
3.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.7 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hermanus Beach Villa
Hermanus Beach Villa
#17 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#7 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
3.5 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosselberg On Grotto Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosselberg On Grotto Beach

Property: Mosselberg On Grotto Beach
Address: 253A 10th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mosselberg On Grotto Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Mosselberg on Grotto Beach is a luxurious 5 star Country House with spectacular views of the majestic Mosselberg mountains and the Blue Flag Grotto Beach in Hermanus. From June to November you can see the Southern Right whales from your bedroom lounge! Designed by an award-winning architect, Mosselberg Country House has a pool and a huge deck on the sea side. Each room has its own entrance, a sea-facing balcony and the option of king-size or 2 single beds. Bring the kids, there are sleeper couches available in some of the bedrooms. The rooms are luxuriously appointed with a bar fridge, coffee kitchenette, safe, TV, under floor heating, fans, and full en-suite bathrooms with twin basins and heated towel rails. Wake up to our world class, superb continental and English breakfasts, which are served on the deck or on the veranda around the pool. If outdoor adventure is on the cards; there is access to a mountain bike trail, fantastic walks and scenic hikes on the beach, in the Fernkloof Nature Reserve or along the cliff path. Mosselberg is also conveniently located 4.5km from the Hermanus Golf course and 24km from Arabella. With activities suited to all weather conditions, choose from a relaxing swim in our pool, read a book in the lounge or play a game of pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mosselberg On Grotto Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosselberg On Grotto Beach Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing