We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal!”
Review of Seafood at the Marine - CLOSED

Seafood at the Marine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: True to its name, SeaFood at The Marine's menu offers guests a seafood menu showcasing the ethically sourced local ingredients that the Overberg region has to offer.
london
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I had a fantastic meal here when we visited Hermanus on the last night of our holiday. My daughter said her butternut squash soup she had to start was the best she has ever tasted! All the courses were delicious and beautifully presented. The staff were charming and it was one of the best meals we had on our trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank drg1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    65
    20
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“For once it is worth eating in the hotel”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very good restaurant. Obviously seafood oriented, but what else would one want on the cliffs overlooking a bay full of whales. Good service, quality ingredients and preparation, and interesting menu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wking21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The restaurant is excellent ...nothing to add. Throughout the whole trip in South Africa this restaurant was the best!!! For the starter white fish carpaccio for the main Richman's fish and chips for hubby, Shellfish linguine for me and all the plates were beyond delicious. Service was very good the place is very cozy too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“What a pity it was so empty”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Hermanus is a lovely spot and this hotel has a great setting. The decor is rather grand and so we were a bit embarrassed that we were rattling around in the space with only a few other people. But the service, food and setting were lovely - so well worth it. Just hope they get busier when the season hots up again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HT1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Throughout our trip in South Africa this has so far been the best meal we have had. The food was simply beautiful, from the delicious taste, the presentation to the excellent service we received.

We both could have eaten the same meal over and over again it was so delicious. The staff are very welcoming, friendly and polite. The restaurant is clean and you can see the chefs cooking your food. The dessert is out of this world!!!!

I highly reccomend this restaurant :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BubbleandSqueak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood at the Marine also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing