We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant”
Review of Seafood at the Marine - CLOSED

Seafood at the Marine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: True to its name, SeaFood at The Marine's menu offers guests a seafood menu showcasing the ethically sourced local ingredients that the Overberg region has to offer.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellant”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great Food, Great Service, Good value. From start to finish we had a great meal, very friendly and knowledgable staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luckytravellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    65
    20
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Local is lekker”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As a local to Hermanus, we know how few restaurants can deliver a fine dining experience in Hermanus. My friend and I like to be spoilt when we do not cook at home, so for a treat we dined here last Friday evening.
The evening started with perfect Dirty Martinis in the lounge area with spectaculer decor.
The menu was delectable and lots of choice, but we both ordered the mussels as starters and fresh Walker Bay sole for mains.
The food was fantastic! Perfectly prepared and presented! The service 6star and the atmosphere perfect.

The prices are reasonable, and I rather pay a few rand more and have this divine experience than [pay a few rand less and walk away disappointed with the evenings experience.


I highly recommend the restaurant to visitors and locals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joshua r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fine dining at the Marine Hermanus”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Marine Hotel Hermanus has been around for at least 90 years and appears to be the haunt of the Cape Town vieux riche and sons of the Empire. In spite of this a visit will not leave you bankrupt since their prices are very civilized. Here you will find the finest fine dining Hermanus has to offer with good service and reasonable food. I found the choice on their menu rather limited but the place and the atmosphere compensated for small faillings. Worth a repeat visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great cocktails, fabulous food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We started the evening in the cocktail bar sipping delicious Bellinis (Puréed peaches topped with champagne) While we relaxed we perused the full menu.

We started with a delicious prawn Caesar salad & fish cakes. We followed with a delicious seafood linguini & I had fish, chips & mushy fresh peas. The fish & peas were superb, sadly the chips were soggy.

My malva pudding was great as was Mel's selection of sorbets. We were served by a trainee, Mathew, who did an excellent job. A thoroughly enjoyable evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicmeljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Hermanus”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great service. Everything cooked to order. Fab tastes. Good selection. Classic surroundings. Parking on site.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RAMSouthwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood at the Marine also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing