We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktails, fabulous food”
Review of Seafood at the Marine - CLOSED

Seafood at the Marine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: True to its name, SeaFood at The Marine's menu offers guests a seafood menu showcasing the ethically sourced local ingredients that the Overberg region has to offer.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great cocktails, fabulous food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We started the evening in the cocktail bar sipping delicious Bellinis (Puréed peaches topped with champagne) While we relaxed we perused the full menu.

We started with a delicious prawn Caesar salad & fish cakes. We followed with a delicious seafood linguini & I had fish, chips & mushy fresh peas. The fish & peas were superb, sadly the chips were soggy.

My malva pudding was great as was Mel's selection of sorbets. We were served by a trainee, Mathew, who did an excellent job. A thoroughly enjoyable evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicmeljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    65
    20
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Hermanus”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great service. Everything cooked to order. Fab tastes. Good selection. Classic surroundings. Parking on site.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RAMSouthwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Calm, serene atmosphere with lovely food”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We arrived on the doorstep at 8pm on a Saturday and they found us a lovely table. Lovely food and just "gentle" waiters - in that they were friendly and cheerful, but also left us to enjoy the relaxing environment. We had delicious fish and desserts. Can't really complain about anything!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank botsSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kent
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“S.A.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A splendid restaurant at the Marine hotel, an iconic hostelry in this holiday resort. Go for 'Rich man's fish and chips' using the whitest of white hake. It goes so well with the Southern Right Sauvignon Blanc 2012.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MattieWestKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good deal for lunch”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have been there for lunch on our way to Cape Town! The venue is very chic and the service is very good! I tried the ravioli (average) and the fish accompanied by a glass of wine. Finally I found a good cheesecake in South Africa! The bill overall was very convenient, taking into account the venue. I recommend it for lunch, probably on dinner time it has a different menu with higher prices!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood at the Marine also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing