We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Seafood at the Marine - CLOSED

Seafood at the Marine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: True to its name, SeaFood at The Marine's menu offers guests a seafood menu showcasing the ethically sourced local ingredients that the Overberg region has to offer.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Moving through Hermanus we were greater with superb service and some beautifully cared for fish. A couple of our choice weren't available but we enjoyed our three courses none the less.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    65
    20
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best lunch in Hermanus!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I visit Hermanus often and no trip is complete without a trip to The Marine. If you can't stay here - at least eat here, right? Always very friendly service and great seafood. Love the fish and chips ( kids love it too) and asian veggies. The Malva pudding for desert is a must.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank adreskitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronpel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good up scale sea food”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Top end restaurant with very good menu ,service and food which reflects on the prices. Not recomended for families.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A first class restaurant”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel restaurant is excellent. It may be a little expensive but the food was delightful and the service very attentive without being fussy. This restaurant would not look out of place in a good London hotel but the price would be triple that in SA.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodfanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good but limited menu offering”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Had dinner at the Seafood at the Marine whilst staying in Hermanus for the weekend. We chose the restaurant to celebrate an important occassion. The food quality and service for the most part was excellent but we felt the menu offering was a bit limited as a Seafood restaurant in the historical fishermans village Hermanus is typically known for, would have liked to have seen a bit more variety on the menu. Could not remember seeing Sushi, Crayfish or Lobster on the menu. In saying so, we did enjoy what we had ordered and the evening was quite enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inspectors001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood at the Marine also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing