We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the finest seafood restaurant in Hermanus”
Review of Seafood at the Marine - CLOSED

Seafood at the Marine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: True to its name, SeaFood at The Marine's menu offers guests a seafood menu showcasing the ethically sourced local ingredients that the Overberg region has to offer.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Probably the finest seafood restaurant in Hermanus”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The seafood restaurant forms part of the Marine Hotel. It is smart, bright and comfortable with an unobtrusive open plan kitchen. The music is quiet and the ambience very pleasant. First impressions were excellent. We ordered fish soup which we thought was as good as any we had recently eaten in France. It was served with the usual garlic mayonnaise 'Rouille' with crisp thin toast. For the main course we chose Norwegian Salmon. This was cooked to perfection and was served with a small portion of properly cooked fresh vegetables. The fish was obviously cut from the middle part of the salmon and was of excellent quality. For desert I had a most attractive looking sliced strawberry tart with creme patissiere and my partner chose the chocolate fondant which was specially cooked. This was served with ice cream. We decided to have coffee in the hotel lounge. This too has been refurbished and is very attractive with comfortable sofas, white and yellow scatter cushions, interesting lighting, bright flowers. It opens on to the verandah which has lovely views over the bay. The price of the three course meal was R230 per person which is remarkably good value, especially for a Relais Chateaux Hotel. We could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    65
    20
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We dined here during our recent stay in Hermanus and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The hotel is centrally located, so we were able to walk from our Guest House. We enjoyed very reasonably priced cocktails and freshly made canapes in the hotel's sumptuous lounge, where we were able to peruse the menu at our leisure. Once we had finished our drinks and our starters had been prepared, we were shown through to our table. The whole meal was excellent, with the emphasis on seafood. Service was both friendly and efficient.. Two courses for two of us with wine plus pre-dinner cocktails and gratuities was a snip at around £65. Go on, treat yourselves.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phantomfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended with excellent service.”
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We dined at the seafood at Marine on our visit ti Hermanus, For starters I had the Snoek Pate and my wife had the Prawns. We both had the rich mans fish and chips. The service was second to none and everything was faultless. As other reviewers have suggested the restaurant does lack atmosphere but we would certainly visit again. I had wine and my wife had a Strawberry Daquiri, we also had a bottle of water and the bill was below £50.00.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bunny-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennes, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredible value for money”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We has an excellent dinner last month at the Seafood at the Marine. The service was great, the decor extremly pleasing and the food superb not only in terms of quality but also presentation and quantity. We were further surprised when we got our bill as we had cocktails, wine with our meal and sweet wine with our dessert, overall it worked out at less than 50 US$ per person. In a Relais & Chateau, this is an absolute bargain. Highly recommended and may be next time we return, we may even stay at the hotel. The location is excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PascalJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but don't come here for the atmosphere”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

While the meal we ate at Seafood was faultless, we could have been sitting in a hotel restaurant anywhere in the world. The staff were attentive and the food was of a very high standard but the meal lacked any character. The restaurant feels quite smart and is nicely decorated in muted colours, but it was incredibly quiet with only two other tables occupied. I'm not sure if this is somewhere we will remember in years to come, despite greatly enjoying the food. However, if you want somewhere upmarket to eat in Hermanus, then this is definitely a safe bet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood at the Marine also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing