We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best restaurant in Hermanus” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barefoot Cook

The Barefoot Cook
Ranked #11 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Best restaurant in Hermanus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We absolutely love this restaurant for lunch and dinner. The food is always freshly prepared and of very high quality. Mariclaire and her staff go out of their way to make everyone very welcome. The setting is beautiful and there is a wonderful ambience in the courtyard, especially in the evenings. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough and the fact that it's always full of locals speaks for itself! It really is a gem, don't miss it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theresaMary47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    44
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Bitterly disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Too expensive for the dinner overpriced by at least 25% and uncaring service.We had to wait an hour for our food.Food was reasonable quality,but asparagus soup was bland.At these prices we could find a really great restaurant in Cape Town.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan472014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucepi, Croatia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not break the glas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Almost ready to go back to my favorite restaurant in South Africa, The Barefootcook in Hermanus.
Its cuisine is spendid with local flavors and international allure. A open cottage in the middle of town, transformed into a nice restaurant and some shops. Seating outside or inside, depending on the weather, the service is genuine and attendful, special attention is give to the regular guests in a warm and cozy atmosphere. The chef is open to any special wished you might have, vegetarian or Indian. The Barefoot Cook is THE place to eat in Hermanus, I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vmravicic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Excellent food and great atmosphere well worth a visit! The setting is unusual behind a book shop and a pleasant surprise with a very pretty courtyard.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Critic129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect all round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a gem of a place in a cottagey setting, a short walk away from the mainstream holiday centre of Hermanus. I loved everything from the food to the ambience, and in particular the décor. The staff are warm and inviting and only had to twist my arm a little to try their famed chocolate mousse. As a Slow Food fan , I love that Marie-Claire, the owner, tries to source all her produce locally and use seasonal ingredients. It's the closest I have come to a field-to-fork experience in a while. And yes, she does wander around barefoot :-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barefoot Cook also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to The Barefoot Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing