We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprised that it was so good”
Review of The Barefoot Cook

The Barefoot Cook
Ranked #14 of 112 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“surprised that it was so good”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

good food and service, did not expect it to be as good because of name? Book store attached was a plus.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dan4wines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    48
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Salad was pretty basic!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The decor and garden area were lovely, but the food was actually quite bland and uninteresting. Conveniently located in the town centre.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NaughtyCatCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat in Hermanus”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The food is always good they make a plan for vegetarians with prior warning. Marie Claire and Rita so welcoming , very child friendly in the day with space for them to play. First place we head for when here in Hermanus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silas_Eliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional- matt and Katie on honeymoon 2013”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I guess being from the uk and having had this place booked for us without any idea what it was like, we arrived by tuk tuk. I must say from the first welcome to the last goodbye everything was exquisite. The menu, although small and limited was delicious, the staff very welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable. To be honest, the food is worth so much more than the prices charged and we would visit again, hopefully this week. The interaction with the barefoot cook was great and I can definitely see why this restaurant is always full. Should they open more during the week? Probably not, as they are happy, have had no staff leaving in 6 years, always packed, never a spare table, every customer leaves with a smile on their face. Did it do it for us? Oh yes it did!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Nice setting, decent fare.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Not my first experience at this establishment but the first for a while. Service was efficient and pleasant. We were seated in the courtyard which is a very nice setting, quiet and peaceful even though still relatively central. The menu was quite limited and not all the dishes were available but the food quality was decent without maybe achieving a wow factor. The wine list was not particularly extensive but contained a nice selection, pricing was, for Hermanus, about par for the course. Certainly worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Geezerbl0ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barefoot Cook also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to The Barefoot Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing